The Browning to release new studio album “Geist” on October 26th 2018

The Browning Geist cover
Kansas City quartet The Browning — Jonny McBee [vocals, electronics], Brian Moore [guitar], Collin Woroniak [bass], and Cody Stewart [drums] — will release their third album “Geist” through Spinefarm Records on October 26th, 2018.

In advance of the release, the band has shared the new song “Carnage”, featuring Jake Hill.

Listen to the new track below.

“My end goal for The Browning is to be industrial-electronic-rock-metal”, said McBee regarding “Geist”. “For this new album, I knew there needed to be a massive change not just musically for listeners, but for myself. That change had to come from the vocals. I’ve been working on finding the right voice for three years that’s powerful and melodic, but still extremely heavy and emotional. It was a long process, and I documented most of it live on my Twitch channel”.

As McBee faced myriad personal trials and tribulations throughout 2017, he simultaneously wrote countless songs and livestreamed the creative process on Twitch. Upwards of 100 users might tune in daily to witness his catharsis in real-time. Six of those songs would land on “Geist”.

However, he quit streaming in order to get really personal. “Structurally, the base of half the album was written on stream”, he says. “Since I was writing in front of a live audience, I was giving them what I thought The Browning fans would want to hear–breakdowns, fast synths, and techno. However, I wanted to incorporate different elements. I wrote the rest in private, so I could really focus”.

Intensely focusing, he spent nearly six months penning lyrics, sharpening his voice in the process. That period yielded a thematic thread that belies a much larger vision. In the end, The Browning don’t just pave their own path with “Geist”; they bulldoze it for others to follow.

1. Sick Minds
2. Beyond Stone
3. Final Breath
4. Ever Lost
5. Optophobia
6. Awaken the Omega
7. Hellblade
8. Carnage
9. Geist
10. Noctis
11. Amnesia
12. Skybreaker