Thank You Scientist to release new studio album “Terraformer” on June 14th 2019

Thank You Scientist Terraformer cover
American Alt-Prog rock masters Thank You Scientist are proud to present, “FXMLDR”, which is the lead off track from their forthcoming 84-minute full length album, “Terraformer”.

“The video is a special LIVE performance of "FXMLDR", recorded using 100% solar power, courtesy of our friends at THE SUN LAB. If you’re the observant type, you may notice a few hundred extra band members. With some frantic planning (and even more frantic arranging), we were able to meet up with DCI world champions THE BLUE COATS for this very special performance”.

You can see the solar-powered live performance for “FXMLDR” below. The album version of “FXMLDR" will be on all DSPS starting next week.

The band started a relationship with The Blue Coats after they performed several TYS compositions for their 2017 concert season.  

Previously, Thank You Scientist announced their 4th studio album, “Terraformer”, will be out on June 14th, 2019, on Evil Ink Records. An Exclusive Comprehensive Adult Bundle of “Terraformer” with Limited Edition 2 LP Color Vinyl, exclusive Music Score and Trading Cards is available for pre-order here.

“Terraformer” will be available in the following formats:
• Limited Edition 2LP Color Vinyl
• 21 Page Full Color Lyric Book (illustrated by Shamfoo)
• Full Score Songbook signed by all members of Thank You Scientist (Limited to the first 750 pre-orders)
• Full set of Thank You Scientist Father and Son Trading Cards (Limited to the first 750 pre-orders)

1. Wrinkle (2:32)
2. FXMLDR (7:56)
3. Swarm (6:25)
4. Son of a Serpent (8:06)
5. Birdwatching (3:41)
6. Everyday Ghosts (10:03)
7. Chromology (9:49)
8. Geronimo (6:15)
9. Life of Vermin (8:11)
10. Shatner’s Lament (1:13)
11. Anchor (9:56)
12. New Moon (2:01)
13. Terraformer (8:07)

Guitarist Tom Monda about the album: “This album probably features some of Sal’s most personal lyrics, juxtaposed with some far reaching and topical stuff that is new for us. There are conceptual threads linking the music and lyrics but we prefer that the listeners discover and interpret them on their own. "Terraforming" in really general terms is taking a planet or some type of celestial body and making it inhabitable for humans. I thought this was a fitting metaphor for the band, in terms of the changes we had gone through in the past two years. I felt totally creatively renewed, and I think scope of the album speaks to that”.

“Terraformer” is the band’s second studio release on the label formed by Coheed and Cambria’s Claudio Sanchez and is the band’s most ambitious to date. The album features more than an hour and 20 minutes on a 2-disc set.

“Terraformer” was recorded at The Barber Shop in Hopatcong NJ and engineer Mike Ferretti’s studio in Ringwood, NJ. Main songwriter and guitarist Tom Monda oversaw production, along with contributions from the band.

The front cover was designed by Templar, who also designed the album art for the group’s previous record “Stranger Heads Prevail”.

“We’re really excited about this new album. We’ve put in so much work into this limited bundle to make sure it’s perfect, and we hope our fans agree and help us crush our release week. We’re a bunch of weirdos making music for weirdos that still care about weird music, and I think that’s a beautiful thing”, commetns Tom Monda.

The album marks the first recordings of the Thank You Scientist’s new lineup, which includes Joe Fadem on drums, Sam Greenfield on Sax, and Joe Gullace on trumpet.

“The new members were all guys that myself, Ben, and Cody play with in Cody’s band ‘We Used to Cut the Grass’. They were all a big part of the writing and arranging process for this album and I feel very lucky to be in a band with them”, says Monda.

In only a few years Thank You Scientist have created a loyal and dedicated following with their unique style and indescribable sound through the albums “Maps of Non-Existent Place”s (re-released in 2014), and “Stranger Heads Prevail” in 2016 via Evil Ink Records). The band has also toured with the likes of Periphery, Haken, Devin Townsend, as well as Coheed and Cambria, cementing themselves as a must-see live act.

Salvatore Marrano - Vocals
Tom Monda - Guitar
Cody McCorry - Bass
Joe Fadem - Drums
Ben Karas- Violin
Sam Greenfield - Saxophone
Joe Gullace - Trumpet