Tangerine Dream to release new studio album “Quantum Gate” on September 29th 2017

Tangerine Dream Quantum Gate cover
Kscope are extremely proud to be releasing the new studio album from Tangerine Dream, entitled “Quantum Gate”, on September 29th, 2017, coinciding and celebrating the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the band.

Tangerine Dream have been a fundamental influence on electronic and progressive music since their formation in West Berlin, 1967. Inspiring genres, musicians and other art forms, from The Future Sound of London to Porcupine Tree, the widely popular TV show Stranger Things (for which their music also featured in) to seminal video game Grand Theft Auto V (for which they helped to write the soundtrack). The group, led by Edgar Froese, have received seven Grammy nominations, written over 100 studio albums and developed instantly recognisable synth-based instrumental music based on a meditative musical experience, that came to prominence in the 70s and 80s.

The new album, “Quantum Gate” promises an updated, contemporary development of their trademark sound: sequencer-driven electronica covering a wide range of moods and atmospheres from ambient soundscapes to energetic, upbeat moments.

The album began as a concept and series of musical sketches by Edgar Froese before he passed away in 2015. Remaining band members Thorsten Quaeschning, Ulrich Schnauss and Hoshiko Yamane worked together to realize Edgar’s visions and expectations of a conceptual album that attempts to translate quantum physics and philosophy into music.

New member Ulrich Schnauss comments: “At the moment hardly any other area of science questions our concept of reality (linearity of time etc.) as profoundly as research in Quantum physics – it’s no surprise therefore that Edgar was drawn to these ideas since he had always aimed at reminding listeners of the existence of ‘unopened doors’”.

“Quantum Gate” was recorded at Eastgate Studios, Vienna & Townend Studio in Berlin from August 2014 to June 2017; mixing handled by Tangerine Dream’s own Thorsten Quaeschning & Ulrich Schnauss; mastering by Birgir Jón “Biggi” Birgisson, Sundlaugin Studio Reykjavík, Iceland (Sigur Ros, Jon Hopkins, Spiritualized). The stunning album artwork was created by Froese’s widow Bianca Froese-Acquaye.

This new opus should be seen as both a new beginning and a testament to Edgar Froese’s never-withering inspiration and ever-flowing creativity.

Pre-order “Quantum Gate” here.

1. Sensing Elements [13:33]
2. Roll the Seven Twice [6:25]
3. Granular Blankets [5:03]
4. It is Time to Leave When Everyone is Dancing [6:36]
5. Identity Proven Matrix [5:18]
6. Non-Locality Destination [9:59]
7. Proton Bonfire [8:25]
8. Tear Down the Grey Skies [6:17]
9. Genesis of Precious Thoughts [9:10]