Stryper to release new studio album “God Damn Evil” on April 20th 2018

Stryper God Damn Evil cover
Iconic hard rock/heavy metal band Stryper will celebrate their 35th anniversary with the upcoming release of their 10th studio album, “God Damn Evil”, due out on April 20th, 2018, via Frontiers Music srl.

Produced by frontman Michael Sweet, the band returns with their most powerful album to date, doubling down on the hard rock/heavy metal sound that earned them a worldwide fan base.

“God Damn Evil” is available now for pre-order in multiple configurations. Stryper have made available some special bundles of “God Damn Evil” through their own webstore and in partnership with Frontiers Music Srl.

Frontiers U.S. Webstore: Includes exclusive gold colored vinyl (limited to 100 copies worldwide), autographed vinyl test pressings, exclusive t-shirt design (Frontiers store only), Limited Amount of autographed CDs, and more! Pre-order here.

Frontiers EU Webstore: Includes exclusive silver colored vinyl (limited to 100 copies worldwide) and more! Pre-order here.

Stryper Webstore: Includes exclusive yellow colored vinyl (limited to 100 copies worldwide), autographed vinyl test pressings, exclusive t-shirt design (Stryper store only), Limited Amount of autographed CDs, and more! Pre-order here.

Pre-orders will also be available at the usual retail outlets like Amazon and iTunes and “Take it to the Cross” can be streamed at Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer, etc. as of midnight Friday, February 8th.

Fans were initially introduced to the “God Damn Evil” album title and cover art via social media posts on February 5th, which quickly went viral causing a significant amount of conversation from Stryper fans.

“We thought long and hard about this title”, says Michael in response to thousands of fan comments. “It was actually considered quite a few years ago and it just didn't feel like the right time. Now, with all the evil in the world that we see around us on a daily basis, it made perfect sense. It's a very bold statement yet a prayer asking God to damn/condemn evil. Nothing more, nothing less”.

“God Damn Evil” is the first release since the recent addition of bass player Perry Richardson, who joins original members Michael Sweet (vocals and guitar), Robert Sweet (drums) and Oz Fox (guitar). Perry is best known as a founding member of the multi-platinum band FireHouse.

Stryper fans are getting their first look into the upcoming album with the release of the epic lyric video for the song, “Take it to the Cross”. View the lyric video below.

“"Take it to the Cross" is our answer to many fans asking us to do something a little heavier and even bordering on thrash”, says Michael. “The verses are heavy with a vocal and lyric delivery that's bold and relevant yet the chorus kicks in with a fast, thrashy vibe. We brought in Matt Blanchard (Act Of Defiance / Shadows Fall) to handle the vocal growl on the choruses and the end vamp. This song is 100% high octane”.

Rocking since 1984, Stryper is responsible for such classic 80s metal albums as “Soldiers Under Command”, “To Hell with the Devil” and “In God We Trust”. In fact, Stryper is the first band to ever have two songs in MTV’s Top 10 simultaneously with their hits “Free” and “Honestly.” After a sabbatical for much of the 1990's, Stryper returned strong in the early 21st century. To date, the Dove Award-winning and GRAMMY-nominated band has sold over 10 million records worldwide.

“God Damn Evil” is the follow-up to Stryper’s ninth studio album, “Fallen” (Frontiers Music SRL), which was released in 2015 and debuted at the top of the Billboard charts. 2016’s 30th Anniversary “To Hell With The Devil Tour” saw record crowds and featured the band’s largest sound and lighting production in nearly two decades.

Stryper will return to the road this year, kicking off the “God Damn Evil World Tour” in Milan, Italy on April 28th at the Frontiers Rock Festival. Tour dates will be posted as confirmed here.

“We all see and hear the darkness that surrounds us in our society but with faith and love, we'll always have hope”, says Michael. “That's what Stryper is all about - powerful music and a message that builds foundations, not walls. We couldn't be more excited about God Damn Evil as it showcases our undying love for what we do and why we do it”.

01. Take It to the Cross
02. Sorry
03. Lost
04. God Damn Evil
05. You Don't Even Know Me
06. The Valley
07. Sea of Thieves
08. Beautiful
09. Can't Live Without Your Love
10. Own Up
11. The Devil Doesn't Live Here

Stryper guitarist/vocalist Michael Sweet stated about “God Damn Evil”: “I can tell you this: if you kind of take the best of a handful of Stryper albums and you kind of roll it up into a big, old fat burrito, that's what you're gonna get with this album. On a couple of songs, you're gonna hear qualities of "Against the Law", you're gonna hear qualities of "Fallen", you're gonna hear qualities of "No More Hell to Pay" - and even "To Hell with 'he Devil" and "Soldiers [Under Command]". You're gonna get the best of all those worlds in one world. We have already said this in private, I don't know if we've said it publicly, and people always kind of sneer when they hear bands say this, and I say it for every album - whatever - I really believe it for every album, 'cause I'm one of those guys that strives to improve and get better. But this is Stryper's best album. And when it comes out and people hear it, in terms of the songs, the performances, the quality, the audio, the sonic quality, the flow, the feel, the energy, people, I think, will agree most people. There are always those people that live in denial and just say, 'There's nothing as good as "To Hell with the Devil",' and that's because they're kind of stuck in the 80s. And that's fine, it's totally fine. I love the 80s too. I'm stuck in the 80s in some ways as well, and that's great - there's some great music that came from the 80s. But, at the same time, I really believe, and I think a lot of our fans - I'll go as far as to say maybe even most of our fans believe that we're doing some of the best music and making some of the best albums that we ever have in our career”.

Sweet recently told ListenIowa that both the title and the lyrics of the title track of Stryper's new album would be “shocking” to Stryper fans - “more  than with “To Hell wWith the Devil”. When people hear it, they're going to go, “What? Can you tell me that again?”, he said.