Sad Planets to release debut album “Akron, Ohio” on April 19th 2019

Sad Planets Akron, Ohio cover
The debut album “Akron, Ohio” by Sad Planets will be released on April 19th, 2019, via Tee Pee Records.

The band consist of John Petkovic (Cobra Verde, Sweet Apple, Guided by Voices, Death of Samantha) and Patrick Carney (The Black Keys). The album also features a guest appearance by J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr.; also plays with Petkovic in Sweet Apple).

Listen to the first track “Not of This World” below.

Pre-order the album here.

1. Just Landed
2. Not of This World
3. Yesterday Girls
4. City Ghosts
5. Bad Cells
6. Want You to Want You
7. (Falling into the Arms of a) Refugee
8. Long Goodbye
9. Heaven’s Devils
10. Disappearing

Akron, Ohio… an All-American City. The city that powered America’s ride into the 20th century as the tire capital of the world. Where the American dream came easy and Art Deco skyscrapers sprang up. As Akron declined, along with the rest of the industrial Midwest, it inspired something very different – music from area bands such as Devo, the Cramps, Chrissie Hynde and Tin Huey.

Two musicians and Akron natives - John Petkovic (Cobra Verde, Sweet Apple, Guided by Voices, Death of Samantha) and Patrick Carney (Black Keys) - found a common bond over music that came out of the Akron area, but also the city’s glorious past and tumultuous present.

“Akron, Ohio” is a celebration of their friendship. The debut album by Sad Planets is the product of two friends with storied careers and beloved bands coming getting together to have fun and record a batch of songs on the spot, in the moment.

The 10-song album mixes deft songwriting with experimental and eclectic sounds played on a multitude of instruments. It also expands the musical roles they play in their other bands. Yes, Carney plays drums at times, but also adds Enoesque synthesizers and other instruments to the mix. Petkovic does all the
vocals and adds layers of guitars to the album.

“When Patrick asked if I wanted to come to Akron to jam with him in the studio”, says Petkovic, “I saw it as a chance to work with a longtime friend, but also an opportunity to reconnect with Akron in a very different way”.

Petkovic, a Cleveland resident, was born in Akron. Carney was leaving the city to live in Nashville. As a result, Akron came to play a unique role – as a ghost and a place that is as familiar as it is distant.

They met in 1999, by chance, at the Akron Art Museum – when Carney approached Petkovic to tell him that he was the nephew of Ralph Carney. The legendary multi-instrumentalist, who passed away in 2017, had recorded with Cobra Verde.

Twenty years later, that bond has resulted in an album of their own.