Rising releases official video for first single “Salted Earth”

Rising band pic
Epic metal quintet Rising recently announced its fourth album, “Sword and Scythe”, for release on October 26th, via Indisciplinarian.

Today, the band releases a brand-new music video for the album's first single, “Salted Earth”, created by the band's visual mastermind, vocalist Morten Grønnegaard.
“Salted Earth” features guest musicians Anders Hjort Straarup on trombone and renowned Danish rock musician Tim Christensen (Dizzy Mizz Lizzy, Tim Christensen) overseeing the grandiose mellotron parts, and backup vocals from Simon Stenbæk of labelmates Piss Vortex.

“Salted Earth” will see its single release on digital platforms tomorrow Friday September 28th.
Watch the video for “Salted Earth” below.

“Salted Earth” comes off the forthcoming Rising record “Sword and Scythe” - a concept album which examines the progression and recession of mankind throughout the movements of history. As the sword and the scythe can be tools for fighting evil oppression and feeding hungry mouths, they are equal symbols of destruction and the greedy exploitation of our planet's resources. Since the dawn of man, the strive for power, wealth and growth has pushed many overambitious civilizations over the brink into the endless oblivion of forgotten history.
Rising vocalist Morten Grønnegård comments on the song: “The main riff for what became "Salted Earth" was the first thing we wrote for the new album. We wanted to write a concept album as a poetic comment to the miserable state of affairs, and this song really sets the tone for the whole album. Conceptually, "Salted Earth" is about the end of the world. To salt the earth is the ancient custom of purifying or consecrating a destroyed city with salt and cursing anyone who dare to rebuild it. It is he cleansing of the old, making space for something new, once the salt has decayed. With our present technology at hand, the question is, if there will be anything to rebuilt for us, once we're done tearing down”.

Rising takes an ambitious leap with the band's fourth LP “Sword and Scythe”, a concept album on the history of mankind seen from the perspective of cosmic circularity, where the full potential of the band's musical vision unfolds in a collection of songs of both progressive outlook, melodic mastery and fierce aggression.

“Sword and Scythe” consists of ten songs and two short instrumentals produced by Jacob Bredahl and Rising, while the album's artwork are once again created by singer Morten Grønnegaard. Furtherly, the album is enriched by a group of musical guests adding choir vocals, piano, trombone, and mellotron parts, performed by renowned Danish rock musician Tim Christensen.
“Sword and Scythe” will be released on October 26th on black virgin vinyl 12" LP with a beautifully illustrated gatefold cover, as well as all digital formats via Indisciplinarian.
1. Amor Fati
2. Empirical
3. Hunger and Exile
4. Camp Century
5. White Heat
6. Ancestral Sun
7. Civil Dawn
8. Salted Earth
9. Renewal Ritual
10. Kill Automation
11. Sea of Irrelevance
12. Aeterna

To celebrate the release of “Sword and Scythe”, Rising will host a free release show at the venue associated with the band's rehearsal premises at Refshaleøen, Copenhagen, on Saturday October 27th. Additional tour dates across Europe have also been booked, with more to be expected.
European Live Shows 2018:
10/06/2018 High Voltage - Copenhagen, DK
10/18/2018 Refshaleøen - Copenhagen, DK (*Free record release show [info])
11/01/2018 Aalborg Metal Festival - Aalborg, DK
11/13/2018 Fundbureau - Hamburg, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/14/2018 Bastard Club - Osnabrück, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/15/2018 Sonic Ballroom - Köln, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/16/2018 Loco - Dresden, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/17/2018 Cassiopeia - Berlin, DE (w/ Earth Ship, Grim van Doom, Blacksmoker, Praise The Plague)
11/24/2018 Kongebryg - Næstved, DK