Rising releases music video for new single “Hunger and Exile”

Rising Hunger and Exile single cover
Epic metal quintet Rising will release the band’s fourth album “Sword and Scythe” on October 26th, via Indisciplinarian, and two weeks ago the first single and video “Salted Earth” was unleashed.

Now, Rising release a brand new single and video in the shape of the aggressive yet super melodic song “Hunger and Exile”.

The video is created as a cooperation between director Kennie Ørsted Jensen and the band, not least Rising’s visual conceptualist, singer Morten Grønnegaard.

See Rising’s brand new video for “Hunger and Exile” below.

Stream “Hunger and Exile” on digital services here.

“Hunger and Exile” might be the most “political” song of Rising’s forthcoming concept album “Sword and Scythe”, which examines the progression and recession of mankind throughout the movements of history.

Singer Morten Grønnegård says of the song:
“"Hunger and Exile" is a song about globalization and migration. A powerful and rich city has polluted its surroundings and exploited all its neighbours’ resources, forcing the humans outside the city to seek exile within its protecting walls. Here the refugees will only be tolerated as servants to the greedy citizens, but time will turn the tables, empires falls due to their own ignorance and greed, and those once masters will become thralls”.

Rising takes an ambitious leap with the band's fourth LP “Sword and Scythe”, a concept album on the history of mankind seen from the perspective of cosmic circularity, where the full potential of the band's musical vision unfolds in a collection of songs of both progressive outlook, melodic mastery and fierce aggression.

“Sword and Scythe” consists of ten songs and two short instrumentals produced by Jacob Bredahl and Rising, while the album's artwork are once again created by singer Morten Grønnegaard. Furtherly, the album is enriched by a group of musical guests adding choir vocals, piano, trombone, and mellotron parts, performed by renowned Danish rock musician Tim Christensen.
“Sword and Scythe” will be released on October 26th, 2018, as LP and digital formats via Indisciplinarian. The two singles “Salted Earth” and “Hunger and Exile” are now available at all relevant digital services. The vinyl version of the album - a black virgin vinyl with a beautifully illustrated gatefold cover - is now available for pre-orders here.
1. Amor Fati
2. Empirical
3. Hunger and Exile
4. Camp Century
5. White Heat
6. Ancestral Sun
7. Civil Dawn
8. Salted Earth
9. Renewal Ritual
10. Kill Automation
11. Sea of Irrelevance
12. Aeterna

To celebrate the release of “Sword and Scythe”, Rising will host a free release show at the venue associated with the band's rehearsal premises at Refshaleøen, Copenhagen, on Saturday October 27th. Additional tour dates across Europe have also been booked, with more to be expected.
European Live Shows 2018:
10/27/2018 Refshaleøen - Copenhagen, DK (*Free record release show [info])
11/02/2018 Aalborg Metal Festival - Aalborg, DK
11/13/2018 Fundbureau - Hamburg, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/14/2018 Bastard Club - Osnabrück, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/15/2018 Sonic Ballroom - Köln, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/16/2018 Loco - Dresden, DE (w/ Earth Ship)
11/17/2018 Cassiopeia - Berlin, DE (w/ Earth Ship, Grim van Doom, Blacksmoker, Praise The Plague)
11/24/2018 Kongebryg - Næstved, DK (w/ Alkymist)