Rick Springfield to release “Rocket Science” on February 19th 2016

Rick Springfield Rocket Science cover
Rick Springfield is bringing new music to his fans with a brand new studio album, “Rocket Science”. Springfield’s 18th studio album will be released globally on Frontiers Music Srl on February 19th, 2016.

Yesterday, December 9th, USA Today hosted the world premiere of the first song from the album, “Light This Party Up”. The song can be enjoyed below.

With 25 million records sold, Rick Springfield has withstood the test of time far better than most critics would ever have imagined, performing nearly 100 concerts around the world every year. He has written and performed some of the best-crafted power pop anthems of the past 40 years, including 17 U.S. top 40 hits; among them, “Don’t Talk to Strangers”, “An Affair of the Heart”, “I've Done Everything for You”, “Love Somebody”, and “Human Touch”, as well as the 1981 Grammy® Best Male Rock Vocal winning No. 1 single, “Jessie’s Girl”. Springfield has even more to say on his latest release, “Rocket Science”.

The new album features classic Springfield compositions like the crowd pumping “Light This Party Up”, the sensitive ballad “Let Me In”, the anthemic “All Hands on Deck” and the blues infused rocker “Miss Mayhem”, on which he collaborated with indie artist Tad Kubler of the band The Hold Steady. Rick also wrote “Down” - in the middle of an ice storm on a stranded tour bus - with Rascal Flatts’ Jay DeMarcus.

Springfield says: “R"ocket Science" is my 18th studio album. It swears a bit and doesn’t respect authority, but it does look after its invalid mother. It has some of the country elements I love, but as much as I understand we should all be sucking up to Nashville, it's still a wide ranging pop/rock record. I hope you dig it!”...

Frontiers Music Srl President Serafino Perugino states: “"Rocket Science" is the fourth album that Frontiers is releasing with Rick Springfield, the first one that also involves the US territory. It’s always been a pleasure to be at Rick’s service, he’s a true musical legend and his albums are always top notch. "Rocket Science" is no exception, and once again this will be a true delight for all his fans, myself included!”...

“Rocket Science” is a pop/country blend fused with Springfield’s signature songwriting and performance style, and features much of Springfield’s touring band joined by some guest players. The album was mixed by veteran Justin Niebank, who gave the project it’s tight feel. Other featured players include iconic guitarist and longtime Springfield collaborator Tim Pierce, plus songwriting partner and album co-producer, Elton John bass player Matt Bissonette.

In addition to collaborating and starring in the Dave Grohl documentary “Sound City” and penning two New York Times best selling books, Springfield played opposite Academy Award® winner Meryl Streep in Jonathan Demme’s “Ricki & The Flash”, plus a multi episode arc in the HBO series “True Detective”. He also appears opposite Orange Is The New Black’s Pablo Schreiber and actress Sosie Bacon in the forthcoming film, “Traces”.  

Pre-orders for Rocket Science are available now on Apple Music/iTunes and Amazon.com. Those who pre-order the MP3 version of “Rocket Science’” will instantly receive the first single, “Light This Party Up”, with additional tracks made available in the forthcoming weeks prior to release. As an added feature, digital versions of the album will feature a bonus track, “Beautiful Inside”.

1. Light This Party Up
2. Down
3. That One
4. The Best Damn Thing
5. Miss Mayhem
6. Pay It Forward
7. Found
8. Crowded Solitude
9. Let Me In
10. All Hands on Deck
11. We Connect
12. (I Wish I Has A) Concrete Heart
13. Earth to Angel
14. Beautiful Inside (Digital Bonus Track)

Pre-order your copy of “Rocket Science”: Amazon.com (CD & MP3) - iTunes.