Protokult to release new studio album “Transcending the Ruins” on October 1st 2020

Protokult Transcending the Ruins cover
Protokult have been defining folk/pagan metal since 2009 when they released their debut album “Ancestral Anthems”, since then they have created three additional uncompromising and relentless albums with their fifth “Transcending the Ruins” coming out on October 1st, 2020.

An introduction to this new offering comes with the single “Feed Your Demons”, which the band explains in their own words:
“"Feed Your Demons'' was probably the last song written for the record, we needed something fairly simple, heavy and to the point. I pictured a groovy yet haunting female folk bridge in the middle and wanted some extra aggression too. One of the more personal songs from the album, it deals with the fragility and vulnerability of what makes us human, I.E addictions, shame, and hopefully learning to cope with so-called vices. It’s not a song that supports addiction but essentially, controlling your demons if you absolutely HAVE to feed them on occasion”.

Over two years in the making, “Transcending the Ruins” is a rush, meant to be enjoyed either as a whole journey or at any entry point, the band ensures. Approaching this record with a bit more maturity and consistency, the result is heavier, faster, darker. 

Inspired and fascinated by various metal genres alongside folk-culture, after a few years of experimenting, Protokult was meant to fuse the two together while paying homage to the past, Bacchanalian festivities and honouring the underground. 

For fans of Arkona, Korpiklaani, and Nightwish, the record pulsates from start to finish yet incorporates the massive dynamics, ambience and dashes of folk-melodies that the band has become known for.

Watch the video for “Feed Your Demons” below.

“Transcending the Ruins” will be out on October 1st, 2020. Pre-order the album here.

1. Mark of Thunder (6:45)
2. Feed Your Demons (6:25)
3. 1516 (Keeper of the Hops) (3:58)
4. Oy Kanada (5:29)
5. Troubled Lad (Slainte Mhaith) (4:30)
6. Na Gryanoi Nedele (1:47)
7. Rusalka (6:17)
8. Valley of Thorns (7:45)
9. Wenches (4:23)
10. Greet the Dawn (6:09)
11. Dead New World (15:23)

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Protokult
• All songs written by: Martin Drozd, Ekaterina
• Produced by: Protokult, Darren Mcgill
• Mixed by: Darren Mcgill
• Mastered by: Tyler Williams
• Album Artwork by: Marie Cherniy
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album Band Line-up:
Martin Drozd – Guitar, vocals, keyboards, additional percussion, jawharp
Ekaterina Pyatkova – Vocals, recorder,
Kaveh Afshar – Drums
Jack Neila – Rhythm and lead guitar
Dave Slowiak – Bass, gang vocals

Live Band Line-up:
Martin Drozd – Guitar and vocals
Dave Slowiak – Bass and backup vocals
Ekaterina – Vocals, recorder and synth
Jack Neila – Guitar
Kaveh Afshar – Drums

Guest musicians:
Quinn Strahl – Electric violin
Matt Hilden (Vesication) – Vocals
Joe Feral – Vocals
Jesse Harvey (Ammo) – Vocals
Cristina Marcu – Operatic vocals
Ewelina Ferenc – Folk vocals

Corktown trans-choir:
Jason Adamo, Geoff Hodsman, Andrei Sin, Davey White, Matt Hilden, Oliver Salathiel