Powerwolf start working on new studio album - due out in 2021

Powerwolf band pic
The high priests of heavy metal, Powerwolf, have announced work on a brand new studio album, to be released in 2021!

The band is currently getting ready for the release of their upcoming special album, “Best of the Blessed”, on July 3rd, 2020 via Napalm Records.

Guitarist Matthew Greywolf has just commented the exciting news as follows:
“Even some months before the world went into lockdown I started locking myself in my studio to start writing new songs for the eighth Powerwolf album, and by now there’s quite a bunch of exiting stuff, which I’m working on with Attila as we speak. Lots of energy and hooks - we’re thrilled and excited! We expect to start recording by the end of the year, and 2021 will definitely bring a new Powerwolf chapter. Until then - stay at home, stay safe & healthy!”...

To shorten your wait for a brand new Powerwolf, the band’s upcoming release “Best of the Blessed” – celebrating more than 15 years of Powerwolf in the most glorious style – will be seeing the light of day this summer, on July 3rd. But, “Best of the Blessed” isn’t just another “Best Of” album. Featuring 16 metal anthems and timeless classics by the band shrouded in a brand new shape, this record will include several new versions of hits such as “We Drink Your Blood”, “Werewolves of Armenia”, “Sanctified with Dynamite”, or the most celebrated festival hymn of all time, “Resurrection by Erection”.

And while speaking of live: If you cannot get enough of Powerwolf’s captivating stage performances, especially in these dark times without live shows and festivals over this summer, Powerwolf’s “Best of the Blessed” will also include 14 live tracks; the available Earbook and LP Box Edition will give you even more of the band’s incredible live sound!

Pre-order “Best of the Blessed” here.

1. We Drink Your Blood (New Version 2020)
2. Army of the Night
3. Demons are a Girl’s Best Friend
4. Werewolves of Armenia (New Version 2020)
5. Saturday Satan (New Version 2020)
6. Amen & Attack
7. Where the Wild Wolves Have Gone
8. Resurrection by Erection (New Version 2020)
9. Sanctified with Dynamite (New Version 2020)
10. Kreuzfeuer
11. Armata Strigoi
12. Kiss of the Cobra King (New Version 2019)
13. Killers with the Cross
14. Sacred & Wild
15. In Blood We Trust (New Version 2020)
16. Let There Be Night

CD 2 - The Live Sacrament (Wolfsnächte 2018):
1. Fire & Forgive
2. Incense & Iron
3. Amen & Attack
4. Demons Are a Girls Best Friend
5. Killers with the Cross
6. Armata Strigoi
7. Blessed & Possessed
8. Where the Wild Wolves have Gone
9. Resurrection by erection
10. Stossgebet
11. All We Need is Blood
12. We Drink Your Blood
13. Werewolves of Armenia
14. Lupus Die

The Live Bonus Sacrament (Earbook & LP Box):
1. Sanctified with Dynamite
2. Army of the Night
3. Coleus Sanctus
4. Let There Be Night

The story of Powerwolf, beginning in 2004, reads like a true fairytale, but is the result of one of the most hard working and entertaining live bands on the heavy metal planet. Powerwolf has not only received plenty of Gold and Platinum awards to date, numerous releases have entered the official album charts at the pole position #1. With “Blessed & Possessed” (2015), Powerwolf achieved Gold status for the first time and stayed at the Top of the charts for more than nine weeks, while the predecessor, “Preachers of the Night” (2013) – as well as the incredible DVD, “The Metal Mass” (2016) – hit the official German album charts at #1. Powerwolf’s holy mass in the name of heavy metal is unstoppable, their latest magnum opus, “The Sacrament of Sin” (2018), again entered the album charts at #1.

The accompanying Wolfsnächte tour, in which Powerwolf headlined large venues with their phenomenal stage performances, became a single major triumph - as well as the numerous summer festival shows in which the crowds were thrilled and completely captivated by the ‘wolf and their unique, (un)holy metal mass!

Attila Dorn – Vocals
Matthew Greywolf – Guitar
Charles Greywolf – Guitar
Falk Maria Schlegel – Organ
Roel van Helden - Drums