Polaris release music video for new single “Hypermania”

Polaris video pic
Due to a huge demand by the fans, Polaris have released the video and track, “Hypermania”, taken from their second studio album, “The Death of Me”, out on February 21st, 2020, via SharpTone Records.

Watch the new video for “Hypermania” below.

“Hypermania” was introduced to the band’s live set at the end of last year and are stoked to officially release it ahead of their appearance at Unify Festival this weekend. 

“"Hypermania" is a song about losing your grip on reality, questioning your sanity, and feeling like you’re on the verge of an explosion all the time. Paranoia, mood swings, white-knuckling your way through the day just barely holding it together. The whole lyrical direction was inspired very directly by the music itself. Rick (Schneider, guitar) has this knack for writing these kind of Southern-hardcore-meets-nu-metal riffs that no one else in the band could write, stuff that’s really noisy, abrasive and discordant, but also tight and bouncy, and that’s where this song began”, explains drummer Daniel Furnari. “We started adding this song to our live set towards the end of last year and the energy from the crowd has been batshit crazy every time we’ve played it. The internet has been starting to demand pretty firmly that we release it, and we’ve been itching to get it out for everyone to finally hear it properly, so here it is!”... 

Pre-order “The Death of Me” on a range of formats here.

01. Pray for Rain
02. Hypermania
03. Masochist
04. Landmine
05. Vagabond
06. Creatures of Habit
07. Above My Head
08. Martyr (Waves)
09. All of This is Fleeting
10. The Descent

Back in December, Polaris were announced for Hatfield/Leeds based Slam Dunk Festival. The festival will take place in May 2020, after their recently announced UK headline tour. Support for the headline tour comes from label mates Currents and Alpha Wolf and American hardcore punks Varials.

UK Tour Dates 2020:
03.05.20 Bristol - The Fleece
04.05.20 Birmingham - o2 Academy2
05.05.20 Glasgow - G2
06.05.20 London - o2 Academy Islington
(with Currents, Alpha Wolf and Varials)

Festival 2020:
23-24.05.20 Slam Dunk Festival

When it came time to make their new album, “The Death of Me”, the Sydney outfit knew they had a tall order on their hands.

“We wanted to walk a line between maintaining what’s defined our band and brought people to our music in the first place, while trying to write for ourselves and keep ourselves interested”, begins drummer Daniel Furnari, one of the main songwriters in the unit. “Being our second full-length, we knew it was important for us to surprise the listener as well - nobody wants to hear the same record twice. We wanted to give them things they wouldn’t expect, take them to new places, but also for it to be definitively a Polaris record, building on what we’ve been working towards”.

Polaris returned to the house in the small Australian South Coast town of Mollymook where they made “The Mortal Coil”, converting it into a temporary studio. The familiar surrounds acted as something of a refuge after the high-pressure claustrophobia of touring. Accompanying the band was their front of house sound engineer, Lance Prenc, and long-time friend Scott Simpson (of Melbourne band Alpha Wolf), both of whom co-produced the album with the band. They tried a few new approaches to song writing, with tracks such as the anthemic first single, “Masochist” starting life as a vocal melody, around which the riffs were built, as opposed to the other way around.

In the two years since “The Mortal Coil”, Polaris have embarked on three sold-out headlining tours of Australia, as well as supporting Architects and Parkway Drive around the country; five runs throughout Europe (including a series of arena shows supporting Architects and a slew of high-profile summer festival spots); three separate US tours; not to mention performing at Download Festival in Australia. Somewhere in there, the quintet found time to write “The Death of Me”.

Jamie Hails - Vocals
Jake Steinhauser - Bass/vocals
Rick Schneider - Guitar
Ryan Siew - Guitar
Daniel Furnari - Drums