Nosound to release new album “Scintilla” on September 2nd 2016

Nosound Scintilla cover
After a decade of crafting a very particular type of widescreen melancholia and wistful imagery, Nosound has announced its fifth studio album, “Scintilla”, to be released via Kscope on September 2nd, 2016.

Inspired by personal upheaval and a desire for change, “Scintilla” is an emotionally complex and musically direct work presenting a stripped-down set of compositions that mark a major departure from Nosound's trademark symphonic lushness and production precision. Shifting from the uncharacteristic sarcasm of “Love is Forever” and potent anger of “The Perfect Wife”, to the dreamy sensitivity of “Emily” and the unusually uplifting “Celebration of Life”, “Scintilla” represents the boldest statement of Nosound's career so far.

Founder Giancarlo Erra comments: “The intention with Scintilla was to do something a bit more different than previously and illustrate more vigorously what Nosound is today”.

Taking in influences from post rock, shoegaze and alt-singer-songwriters, the album imaginatively utilizes a mostly organic and acoustic sound palette. Musically looser and more sonically intimate than the band's previous releases, “Scintilla”'s emphasis is placed firmly on feeling rather than technique.

“During a decade of activity, my listening tastes have shifted gradually towards a simpler, more direct music with an intimate character that still retains a certain richness and detail in sound”, adds Erra. “Northern folk and alt singer-songwriter music are possibly the stronger influences, but, generally speaking, everything that is simple, direct and minimal but with rich sound is what I like, and what I hope this album is”.

“Scintilla” also includes guest appearances from Anathema's Vincent Cavanagh and acclaimed Italian singer Andrea Chimenti. Cavanagh lends his distinctive vocals to two of the album's tracks, “In Celebration of Life” and “The Perfect Wife”, while Chimenti co-writes and sings on the serene “Sogno E Incendio”. Cellist Marianne De Chastelaine returns once more to the Nosound fold (this time in a more free-flowing and improvisational capacity).

To celebrate the new album announcement, Nosound has launched a new track and video, “Short Story” - listen to it below.

Giancarlo Erra comments of the song and video: “This is one of the shortest and less structured Nosound songs, both musically and lyrically, and yet one that perfectly sets the mood to 'different' and prepares for the album. A statement of intentions, so much that it is the opening of the album and the one we choose to be the first single. The video was shot specifically for this song, introducing the places where the album was partly written and recorded, and at the same time illustrating the emotional extremes present on the whole album, being at the same time delicate and thunderous without very much for the in-between”.

“Scintilla” is available to pre-order via the Kscope webstore here as a deluxe CD/Blu-Ray in Mediabook with a 24 page booklet and audiophile double 180g vinyl edition (mastered at 45rpm to ensure quality) in a gatefold cover with booklet and poly-lined inner bags. Download and streaming versions will be available to pre-order here with “Short Story” as an instant download.

1. Short Story [02:24]
2. Last Lunch [07:00]
3. Little Man [04:38]
4. In Celebration of Life [05:34]
5. Sogno E Incendio [04:44]
6. Emily [03:19]
7. The Perfect Wife [07:27]
8. Love is Forever [02:51]
9. Evil Smile [04:33]
10. Scintilla [06:27]

Regarded by critics and fans alike as one of the most interesting up and coming alt/art rock bands in Europe, Nosound inventively combines influences from '70s psychedelia, '80s/'90s ambient and contemporary alternative, progressive and post rock. The project started as a one man studio project in late 2002 by Giancarlo Erra, but has since grown into a five piece band, evolving into something unique, focused and powerful. The music is evocative and intense, with personal songwriting.

A cathartic album of emotional extremes, Scintilla marks the brave beginning of the second phase of Nosound's fascinating career. Stay tuned for more information on Nosound and Scintilla, out this September on Kscope.

Giancarlo Erra - Vocals, guitar, keyboards
Marco Berni - Keyboards, vocals
Alessandro Luci - Bass, upright bass, keyboards
Paolo Vigliarolo - Acoustic/electric guitars
Giulio Caneponi - Drums, percussion, vocals