Molly Karloff to release new EP “Supernaturalation” on March 6th 2020

Molly Karloff Supernaturalation EP cover
Molly Karloff, the hard-hitting, three-piece British alt-rock, grunge rock band, release their highly anticipated follow-up EP, “Supernaturalation” on Friday 6th March 2020.

The EP is distributed digitally by Cargo, physically by Roulette Media and available to pre-order on Friday 10th January, here.

The first single “She Said” will be released January 10th. The single is available to pre-order, here, and it is also accompanied by an official music video. Watch the video below.

Since the release of their critically acclaimed debut EP, “Dancing for Money” (2018), the Oxfordshire based band have toured their contagiously hook-filled, fist pumping sound around the country, including packed venues across Oxfordshire and London’s Camden Town.

Whether they are playing at rock and metal festivals in Oxfordshire or supporting Oliver Dawson’s Saxon at RockFest, people are talking about Molly Karloff’s addictive riff driven, no-nonsense punchy rock sound in a very positive way.

After the release of the “Dancing for Money” EP, they released a music video for the title track and performed a number of shows to support their release and build momentum.

Within only two short months, the band were headlining their first sell-out show at The Wheatsheaf in Oxford, shortly followed by a joint headline show at the O2 Academy Oxford.

As the band continued to build momentum, they started to catch the attention of the press. Down the Front Media hailing their EP as a “No-holds-barred debut from a band that has spontaneously clicked into place and erupted onto the scene with a sucker punch!”...

The press attention escalated on an international scale with Brazilian site, Rock Vibrations, and the US’s Rock-n-Review continuing the superlative-laden praise.

Back home in the UK, vocalist, guitarist and songwriter, Simon was interviewed by Moshville Times as the plaudits continued with Manchester Rocks placing the band’s debut EP in their top 10 EPs of 2018.

The praise continued into 2019 with a glowing review in the May edition of Powerplay Magazine who awarded the EP a rave review. “Molly Karloff have enough balls about them to crash through the barriers and make the rock world take notice”, said Powerplay.

The high-energy performances of this electrifying Oxford-based band are comprised of Simon Guilliard (vocals, guitar), Dan Podbery (bass) and Jowie Adkins (drums).

Since making their noisy presence on the UK rock scene known, Molly Karloff have been busy in the studio recording the tracks to their second studio EP release, which embraces and evolves their unique, yet familiar sound, of stripped back guitar and bass grooves.

Recorded at Parlour Studios, Kettering and engineered, mixed and produced by Neil Haynes (Sacred Mother Tongue, Black Dogs, Awake, Sympathy State), the band see “Supernaturalation” as a precursor to the released of their debut album later in the year. 

The 5-track EP captures the distinctive Molly Karloff hard rock sound with a wild edge that gives a middle finger to numerous social issues; with a sideways dig at hypocrisy in society. With an addictive listen with the immediately familiar attention-grabbing guitar riffs and catchy, contagious, chorus lines, this is a belter of an EP. 

Track by Track:

This was written using a baritone guitar, with the main riff being one that just sprang into my head one morning, which is a pretty regular occurrence. Right from the opening riff, the addictive hook sets the tone for this song, and everything centres around hooks in this band. The foot stomping groove continues before launching into an earworm of a chorus that takes a dig at hypocritical attitudes to drug addiction in society.

“She Said”:
The swirling guitars that open this song belie the infectious hit that lies ahead, even as the melodic verse kicks in. I originally wrote the opening riff without the wah, which was added by mistake one day in rehearsal. It sounded cool, so we kept it that way, and everything else evolved from there. As the chorus kicks in, soaring vocals hit with a punch that will leave you humming the tune all day. Hard rock catchiness is the name of the game that echoes the message of perseverance in the lyrics.

“Do You Wanna?”:
This tune was never meant to have the punky overtones that it currently has. The main riff arrived, like most songs, in the shower one morning, and after trying various things during the writing process, that punk thing in the verse was the best fit. If it fits, then wear it! Don’t conform, ignore the rules, be what you want to be. The lyrics mirror the punk overtones of the opening guitars, a song that has familiar sound with a twist that mixes punk rock sensibilities with a unique hard rock sound that always proves to be a big crowd pleaser. Can punk be mixed with big grooves and catchy choruses? The answer is yes.

“Do It Again”:
The catchy joy ride continues with driving rhythms right from the outset of this tune. There’s plenty of melody and groove before you’re hit with another contagious chorus laid over the pumping hooks of the guitars. Having no regrets seems an appropriate subject for this song to tackle, which continues its driving assault. There’s only a small break away for the appropriately short and frenetic solo before launching the listener back into the crescendo that builds before the final chorus.

“The Other Side”:
It starts with a catchy, foot-tapping riff. The funk-blues groove of the opening riff doesn’t disappoint as it pulls you in to a song about breaking taboos. There are no airs and graces. It’s just a straight, ‘four to the floor’ straight up hard rock tune for rocking out or dancing to.

UK Tour Dates 2020:
27 February 2020  Camden The Black Heart (Molly Karloff, STD, Black Tree Vultures)
06 March 2020  Oxford The Bullingdon (Ryders Creed, Molly Karloff, Black Tree Vultures)
14 March 2020  Stoke The Rigger (Molly Karloff, STD)
21 March 2020  Bolton The Alma*
27 March 2020  Doncaster The Woolpack*
28 March 2020  Ipswich The Smokehouse*
05 April 2020  Northampton The King Billy*
10 April 2020  Colchester The Soundhouse*
11 April 2020  Birmingham Scruffy Murphy’s (Molly Karloff, STD, Raze, Thirteen)
17 April 2020  Swansea Hangar 18 (Molly Karloff, STD, Lynchwood)
24 April 2020  Norwich B2 (Molly Karloff, STD, Lynchwood, The Self-Titled)
30 May 2020  Southampton The Firehouse (Molly Karloff, STD)
27 June 2020  Hastings The Carlisle - Toadfest
* (Molly Karloff, STD, Raze)

Get tickets here.

Simon Guilliard - Vocals, Guitars
Dan Podbery - Bass
Jowie Adkins - Drums