Majestica release lyric video for new single “Night Call Girl”

Majestica video pic
Swedish symphonic power metallers Majestica are set to release their debut album “Above the Sky”, on June 7th, 2019, through Nuclear Blast.

Today, Sabaton guitarist Tommy Johansson and his cohorts are releasing another taster from the record. Watch and listen to the second single “Night Call Girl” below.

Purchase the track here.

Tommy states: “"Night Call Girl" is a huge tribute to the 80s metal we grew up with. It’s a mix between Gary Moore, Rick Springfield, Europe and Journey. The lyrics are all about the classical catch phrases they used in those days and it has one of the best "sing along" choruses on the album. Power metal doesn’t go far away from 80s metal so that’s why we felt that this tribute to our 80s hair metal heroes fits great on "Above the Sky"”.

The album was recorded with guitarist Alex Oriz (Soundgarden Studio/Studio Oriz) and Ronny Milianowicz (Studio Seven), who also mixed the record and took care of the production alongside Tommy Johansson (guitars, vocals). Mastering duties were handled by Tony Lindgren (Katatonia, Angra, Enslaved etc.) at Fascination Street Studios.

The album will be available in the following formats:
• Digi
• 2LP (black, gold)
• Digital

Pre-order the album here.

01. Above the Sky
02. Rising Tide
03. The Rat Pack
04. Mötley True
05. The Way To Redemption
06. Night Call Girl
07. Future Land
08. The Legend
09. Father Time (Where Are You Now)
10. Alliance Forever
11. Future Land (2002) [Bonus Track (Digi und 2LP only!)]
12. Spaceballs [Bonus Track (Digi und 2LP only!)]

Tommy Johansson is a well-known person, especially due to his role as guitar player for heavy metallers Sabaton. But before he joined the Swedish “war machine”, he was busy playing in his own band named Reinxeed, completed by bassist Chris David and guitarist Alex Oriz. Of course, his touring activities with Sabaton slowed down the creative process for Reinxeed a little, but the group has now returned - seemingly out of nowhere - with a new 10-track album entitled “Above the Sky” and a brand new name, Majestica, to top it off! On the new record, Tommy presents not only his guitar skills but also his vocal abilities once again, which he also showcased as Twilight Force’s stand-in singer throughout autumn 2017.

Tommy states: “It’s been many years since we last released an album, so we decided to "start over" as a new band, Majestica, instead. It’s not only a majestic and epic name for a power metal band from Sweden, it’s also a tribute to the album "Majestic" that we released with Reinxeed in 2010. We came up with it and it sounded great, it felt perfect for this kind of music and just feels right”.

The new band name is not the only changed the guys have made, as the quartet is now a trio. Previous fans of the band need not worry though as Majestica bagged no less than Uli Kusch (ex-Helloween) to record drums on their debut album.

Tommy comments: “It was a huge honour and his drums make this album sound more alive than any album I’ve ever recorded, with any other band previously. Since many songs are inspired by Helloween and Gamma Ray it just felt right to have his drumming and input on the songs”.

Tommy Johansson - Guitars, vocals
Alex Oriz - Guitars
Chris David - Bass
Daniel Sjögren - Drums (live)