Magic Pie to release new studio album “Fragments of the 5th Element” on August 30th 2019

Magic Pie Fragments of the 5th Element cover
The long-awaited fifth full-length album from Norwegian Prog Rockers Magic Pie is on its way. Titled “Fragments of the 5th Element” the album is set to hit the streets on August 30th, 2019, Karisma Records, on CD, Gatefold LP and Digital formats.

“Fragments of the 5th Element” finds Magic Pie steering clear of the sterile perfection so often found amongst modern Prog bands  in order to create an album with a slightly more unpolished sound, and a “rough around the edges” feel  that gives it an added bite. From the genre-defying opener, to the epic 23 minute closer, Magic Pie clearly demonstrate just why they have become a household name amongst Prog Rock fans, and why this album has been worth the long wait.

Mixed & Mastered by Rich Mouser (Spocks beard, Transatlantic)  at The Mouse House Studio in Los Angeles, drums for “Fragments of the 5th Element”  were recorded at Lionheart Studio & Production, where Øyvind Voldmo Larsen also worked his magic as engineer.  All other recordings were made at Kim Stenberg’s Studio Basement.

The cover artwork and design wad done by Kim Stenberg, based on original paintings by Eva Stenberg.

“Fragments of the 5th Element” is now available to pre-order here.

1. The Man Who Had It All
2. P & C
3. Table For Two
4. Touched bBy an Angel
5. The Hedonist

A video for the track “P&C”  can be seen below.

Magic Pie’s line-up consists of songwriter and producer Kim Stenberg on guitars and vocals, lyricist and melody co-writer Eirikur Hauksson on lead vocals and guitar, Eirik Hanssen on vocals and guitar, Jan Torkild Johannessen on drums, Erling Henanger on keyboards and backing vocals and Lars Petter Holstad on bass and backing vocals. It's a line-up where experience and superb musicianship combine to create epic prog rock with top notch vocal harmonies.