Letters From The Colony to release debut album “Vignette” on February 16th 2018

Letters From The Colony Vignette cover
On February 16th, 2018, prog metal architects Letters From The Colony will guide listeners into their world of math metal, crushing death elements and virtuosic shoegaze, all united in their debut album “Vignette”.

After announcing their signing to Nuclear Blast, a calm before the storm prevailed until now.

Today the five young Swedes from Borlänge present the video for their first single “Erasing Contrast”, below.

Singer Alexander Backlund comments:
“We're proud to share the first single off of our debut album "Vignette". "Erasing Contrast" saw it's completion shortly after I joined the band, and is in many ways the song that set this whole thing in motion for us. The lyrics — which were my first musical contribution — are about this sort of phantom self that haunts all of us; our ideal selves as seen by ourselves or others. We're all born as blank slates, but along our various walks of life we construct a false perspective.
We're endlessly comparing our triumphs and failings to manufactured realities sold to us by the media, or by our peers. From birth we're told of all the things that we could be, but in a world where anyone can aspire to be anything the strong prey on the weak while the rest of us are left to carry the burden of infinite potential. Our self-image will always stand in contrast to all of the things we could have achieved, should we have chosen a different path. This is the nature of our humanity. It's an inherent flaw within our way of thinking that companies and religious groups love to exploit. Want nothing, have nothing, take nothing, none... except for our album "Vignette", you should totally buy a copy”.

In addition, the band has unveiled the tracklist of their new album, which was mastered by Jens Bogren (Dimmu Borgir, Opeth, Paradise Lost).

01. Galax (8:20)
02. Erasing Contrast (4:49)
03. The Final Warning (5:57)
04. This Creature Will Haunt Us Forever (1:38)
05. Cataclysm (4:59)
06. Terminus (6:53)
07. Glass Palaces (6:37)
08. Sunwise (4:14)
09. Vignette (12:12)

“Vignette” is now available for pre-order here.

Alexander Backlund - Vocals
Sebastian Svalland - Guitar
Johan Jönsegård - Guitar
Emil Östberg - Bass
Jonas Sköld - Drums