Katatonia - Dead End Kings out on late August

Katatonia, the Swedish purveyors of dark rock/metal, have announced that their ninth studio album, due to be released on Peaceville Records on August 27th (EU) and August 28th (US), will be titled "Dead End Kings". A continuation of 2009’s inspired & acclaimed "Night is the New Day", as well as a leap forward into the unknown, "Dead End Kings" sees the quintet conjure yet another milestone in audial melancholy & angst.
Amongst their most poignant & ambitious material to date, "Dead End Kings" was recorded at Ghost Ward Studios & The City Of Glass. The album was produced by founding duo Anders Nystrom & Jonas Renkse themselves, & mixed by David Castillo, known for his prior work with the band, as well as Opeth & Bloodbath.
"Dead End Kings" sees the recording debut of guitarist Per Eriksson for Katatonia, as well as recent bassist Niklas Sandin. Additionally, Katatonia is joined once again by Frank Default & his invaluable expertise on sampling & atmospherics, plus a special guest appearance by Norwegian vocalist Silje Wergeland of Dutch legends The Gathering/ex-Octavia Sperati.
Jonas (vocals) comments on the album title:
“"Dead End Kings" is about the corridors of our mind from where there is no return. Be a king or queen in your own right in these hallways, even at the dead end. Carry your burden with pride. That's what we are doing, twenty years and counting. Kings, because we believe in what we are creating, in our own disturbing faith”.
Anders (Guitars) comments on the end result:
“This album has doors revolving into many different genres of music but remain disguised within the Katatonia trademark. We have walked the fine line between attempting not to repeat ourselves but also not to distance us away from what people know and love. We're now ready to hand over the evidence and whatever the direction this has taken is now for you to decide. We're confident the creativity and passion on this album is something that will be echoing even beyond the dead end”.
Artwork is once more supplied by long-time visual collaborator Travis Smith.
Tracklisting for "Dead End Kings" (not in final running order):
THE ONE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS NOT HERE (featuring Silje Wergeland)