Godthrymm release music video for new single “The Sea as My Grave”

Godthrymm video pic
UK doom metal trio Godthrymm - featuring vocalist/guitarist Hamish Glencross (ex-My Dying Bride, Vallenfyre, Solstice), drummer Shaun Taylor-Steels (ex-My Dying Bride, Anathema), and bassist Bob Crolla - is pleased to unveil the official new video for “The Sea as My Grave”. The forlorn hymn comes off the band’s forthcoming debut, “Reflections”, set for release on February 14th, 2020, via Profound Lore.
The black and white clip features live footage from a Godthrymm performance in Belgium last summer and was pieced together by Carl Assault. Further elaborates Glencross of the track: “Crushing waves of titanic riffs and pounding drums, punctuated with ghostly leads and mournful vocals... lyrically, "The Sea as My Grave" paints a picture of a broken, tired human giving up their earthly remains to the sea for an eternal rest in the vastness of the oceans. Musically, we believe this song perfectly defines us stylistically as a band and represents us perfectly as musician”.
Watch the video for “The Sea as My Grave” below.

Recorded and mixed by Nathan Bailey and featuring artwork and design by Brian D’Agosta of Gostworks Art (Vallenfyre, War//Plague), with “Reflections”, Godthrymm has unleashed a mammoth slab of heavy, mournful, yet pounding traditional doom that harks back to the classic era of 90s UK doom/Peaceville Records. A massive step up from their debut EP, “Reflections” is the result of Glencross taking Godthrymm into darker, more melancholic, and towering realms. Through Glencross’ soaring passionate vocals complimenting his powerful riffs along with Taylor-Steels’ thunderous percussion giving the rhythm section that immense and glorious tone, “Reflections” is a testament to the glory days of the genre while simultaneously making its statement as a new force of modern day doom metal to behold.
“Reflections” will be released on CD, 2xLP, and digital formats. Pre-order the album on CD/LPCD/LP (EU Store) and Bandcamp.

1. Monsters Lurk Herein
2. Among the Exalted
3. The Sea as My Grave
4. We Are the Dead
5. The Light of You
6. The Grand Reclamation
7. Cursed Are the Many
8. Chasmic Sorrows  

Godthrymm was forged in 2017 by Glencross and sees the respected UK metal luminary return to his doom metal roots, creating the music he was known to help forge with Solstice on the legendary New Dark Age album and especially with the heralded My Dying Bride from the 2000 - 2014 time period. Further adding to the Godthrymm pedigree is drummer Shaun Taylor-Steels who, after some lineup refining following the band’s “A Grand Reclamation” debut EP, became the core of Godthrymm. In the months to follow, the pair recorded the colossal “Reflections” full-length. Upon its completion, Glencross and Taylor-Steels added bassist Bob Crolla to the fold making Godthrymm a true power trio of doom.