Elder announces new album “Omens” and May 2020 US Headlining Tour

Elder US Tour 2020 poster
Psychedelic heavy rock virtuosos, Elder, have shared first details about their hotly anticipated, fifth studio record, “Omens”. The album is set to be released on April 24th, 2020, with Stickman Records and Armageddon Shop.

In the last dozen years, Elder has stepped out of the shadows of their peers in the heavy rock underground to emerge a unique voice, delivering album after album of almost unparalleled consistency and creativity. “Omens”, the band’s fifth full-length record, is the newest pillar in the construction of their own musical universe. With it, Elder further embrace experimentation in their brand of progressive psychedelic rock in which atmosphere, melody and structure are created and transformed again and again.

Following 2017’s “Reflections of a Floating World” and the 2019 experimental EP “The Gold & Silver Sessions”, it was anyone’s guess what the band’s next full-length might have in store. Having cemented their own sound – a dense yet lucid brand of heavy rock full of unexpected flourishes and progressive jaunts - the latter EP showcased an exact opposite side of Elder, more rooted in sparse krautrock and even jazz-tinged jams. “Omens” answers this speculation with a contradiction that embodies the spirit of Elder: somehow, there’s even more everything. In five cinematic songs, lush, intricately interwoven melodies grow and dissolve into spaced-out jams. Massive riffs thunder down into a churning sea of psychedelic sounds and unpredictable grooves carry away the listener.

While the full cover artwork will be revealed in the weeks ahead, the album’s tracklisting reads as follows.

1. Omens
2. In Procession
3. Halcyon
4. Embers
5. One Light Retreating

“Omens” is slated for release on April 24th, in the US via Armageddon Shop and in Europe via Stickman Records.

Elder paints pictures with their music, and Omens” shows the band experimenting with an even more colorful palette – with good reason. After thirteen years, this is the first full-length recorded with a new lineup including guitarist Michael Risberg and new drummer Georg Edert, along with guest performances by Fabio Cuomo on Rhodes piano and synthesizers. This is music for a vacation from reality – or to lose oneself in another world. And yet Omens” is not purely an exercise in escapism, but also reflects the increasingly bleak, confusing and antagonistic times in which it was written.

Composed as a concept album spanning the lifespan of a civilization, the album also reads as a commentary on our own society hell-bent on profitability at the expense of our own lives and environment. “Omens” was recorded and mixed at Black Box Studios in France with engineer Peter Deimel (Shellac, dEUS, Motorpsycho) and mastered by Carl Saff in Chicago. The result is an album that is rich, warm and dynamic, presenting the many layers of Elder’s complex sound clearly and offering new discoveries with every listen!

The band has already announced US tour dates to support the record – European dates will follow soon!

US Tour Dates 2020:
May 6  Brooklyn, NY  Elsewhere
May 7  Philadelphia, PA  Underground Arts
May 8  Richmond, VA  Richmond Music Hall
May 9  Asheville, NC  Mothlight
May 10  Atlanta, GA  The Earl
May 12  Lexington, KY  Cosmic Charlies
May 13  Nashville, TN  Mercy Lounge
May 14  New Orleans, LA  One Eyed Jacks
May 15  Houston, TX  Secret Group
May 16  Austin, TX  Barracuda
May 17  Dallas, TX  Blue Light
May 19  Albuquerque, NM  Sister Bar
May 20  Denver, CO  Hi Dive
May 22  St. Paul, MN  Turf Club
May 23  Chicago, IL  Reggie’s
May 24  Cleveland, OH  Grog Shop
May 26  Detroit, MI  Sanctuary
May 27  Toronto, ON  Lee’s Palace
May 28  Montreal, QC  Café Campus
May 29  Boston, MA  ONCE Ballroom
Festivals 2020:
05.- 06.06. CH - Heavy Psych Sounds Fest / Gaswerk Winterthur
26.06. DE - Sound of Liberation Birthday Bash / Schlachthof Wiesbaden
27.06. DE - Sound of Liberation Birthday Bash / Backstage München

Nick DiSalvo – Guitars, vocals, keyboards
Michael Risberg – Guitars, keyboards
Jack Donvan – Bass
Georg Edert – Drums