Diamond Head to release new homonymous album on March 11th 2016

Diamond Head cover
Diamond Head have set to release their new self-titled album on March 11th, 2016.

This is the first studio album of the band, in eight years, which features the new vocalist Rasmus Bom Andersen. Rasmus joined the band in 2014.

The band started working on their new album in January 2015. Brian Tatler, founder of Diamond Head, said: “When we began talking with Ras about making a new record he said we should write the songs as a band just like Diamond Head did at the beginning of our career. There’s no substitute for writing together in the same room, we spark each other off and create something far bigger than we could have done individually”.

Brian continued: “Ras has certainly renewed the energy within the band. I had no interest in doing another record but after working with Ras on the European tour that all suddenly changed. I wanted to make a record with him. He’s a confident singer and he’s not trying to fill anyone’s shoes”.

Brian said about the new album: “This new album has an echo of the early albums but I always try to push our music forward somewhere new if possible”.

Ras stated: “All in all, this album was made with the band’s first fans foremost in mind from start to finish. We wanted to write songs that would have ties to the best parts of the all the previous albums. We feel we have achieved what we set out to do and we hope everyone will hear and feel the Diamond Head spirit through this new eponymous record”.

The album’s lyrics focus on political and environmental themes, specifically warning that our world is in many ways leaning towards self-destruction. The opening and closing songs encapsulate these themes, while the body of the album explores subtopics in more depth, along with songs dealing with lighter subjects that aren’t so heavy on the heart.

01. Bones
02. Shout at the Devil
03. Set My Soul on Fire
04. See You Rise
05. All the Reasons You Live
06. Wizards Sleeve
07. Our Time is Now
08. Speed
09. Blood on My Hands
10. Diamonds
11. Silence

Brian Tatler - Lead, Rhythm Guitar
Rasmus Bom Andersen - Vocals
Karl Wilcox - Drums
Eddie Moohan - Bass
Andy Abberley - Rhythm, Lead Guitar

Physical copies of the album on CD and vinyl will be available direct from band's official website. Digital distribution will be available in all mainstream webstores.