Decline Of The I to release new studio album “Johannes” on March 26th 2021

Decline Of The I Johannes cover
French post black metallers Decline Of The I are set to release a new album entitled “Johannes” on March 26th, 2021, via Agonia Records.

The band revealed a music video for the first single “A Veil of Splendid Lies” - watch it below.

Decline Of The I is a combination of multifaceted, post-black metal and exploratory lyrics, that dwell on topics of existential philosophy. Originating from France (Paris, Île-de-France), the band was created by AK, who descends from a rich portfolio of past and on-going acts (including Vorkreist, Merrimack, The Order Of Apollyon, Neo Inferno 262, Malhkebre and Diapsiquir), with Decline Of The I being his most personal endeavor yet. While the band’s first three albums were inspired by the works of French surgeon and neurologist Henri Laborit, the new one - “Johannes” - pursues a different approach based on the output of Danish philosopher, Søren Kierkegaard, and opens a new trilogy for the band. All music and lyrics were written exclusively by AK, who recorded guitars, keyboards and some of the vocals. He’s surrounded by a full line-up of SI (vocals), AD (bass) and SK (drums).

Drums  were recorded at Hybreed Studios (Temple Of Baal, Ritualization, Merrimack), while rest of the instruments were recorded at a private, home-studio. The album was mixed at Drudenhaus (Alcest, Aluk Todolo, Drastus). Dehn Sora (Deathspell Omega, Blus aus Nord) crafted the cover artwork. David Fitt (Perturbator, Alcest) shot new band photos.

• Digipak CD
• Digibook CD
• Black LP
• Color in color LP
• Splatter LP
• T-shirt
• Digital

Pre-order “Johannes” here.

1. A Selfish Star
2. The Veil of Splendid Lies
3. Act of Faith
4. Tethering the Transient
5. Diev Vide

AK - Guitars, keyboards, vocal
SI - Vocals
AD - Bass
SK - Drums