Danny Bryant to release new studio album “Revelation” on April 20th 2018

Danny Bryant Revelation cover
Danny Bryant is pleased to announce his highly anticipated new studio album “Revelation” – released by Jazzhaus Records on Friday 20th April 2018.

“Sister Decline”, the first track taken from the new album, is now available as an instant grat track on iTunes, Amazon and Spotify.

His fourth studio album to be produced by Richard Hammerton, following in the footsteps of 2015’s “Blood Money” and 2014’s “Temperature Rising”, the new albums is one of Danny’s most personal and emotional album of his career.

“When I began writing this album, I knew that it was going to be one of the toughest challenges of my career”, says Danny. “It wasn't lack of material, it wasn't a lack of desire, but I realised from the beginning that, if this record was to achieve the things I wanted it to say, I would have to go deep inside of myself with these songs and confront memories and emotions I didn't really want to face”.

“Most of all, be completely honest in my writing or it wouldn’t work. The year preceding this album was, for personal reasons, the very hardest of my life. In the space of six months I lost one of my oldest and closest friends and shortly thereafter my father passed away, after a long tough illness. Dad played bass in my band for many years and together we stood side by side playing over two thousand shows, we travelled the world together, he was my best friend and the bedrock of this family”.

“I was struck with a deep depression and crippling anxiety and in times like this I have always found salvation within music. So these songs are dark in subject matter, they are about isolation, despair, and dark times. They question things that I previously had never considered”.

“But this is not an album of dirge music, don’t misunderstand. Indeed, many of the songs are upbeat in tempo and reveal a much more rocky influence to my music. They are heavy laden with guitar and deserve to be played loud! I am incredibly proud of the results because this collection of music is all the things that, for a long while, I couldn't articulate in everyday life. The long nights and the endless searching”.

“Musically speaking, this album features my core band alongside the members of my full 9-piece Big Band, a project which I love touring with. It’s great to hear the brass and keys on these songs, they add new and rich textures and I find myself feeling musically more refreshed, inspired and dedicated than I have for many years”.

1. Revelation
2. Isolate
3. Liars Testament
4. Someday the Rains Will Fall
5. Truth or Dare
6. Shouting at the Moon
7. Sister Decline
8. May I Have A Talk with You
9. Yours for a Song

Album track by track by Danny Bryant:

This came together really quickly and almost ready-formed. Lyrically, I was thinking about how history seems to repeat itself and make the same mistakes time after time. All that has happened before, could someday happen again. It is kind of like a comment on “the end of times” way of thinking that we hear so much about on the news today. It set the scene and concept for the album which is why we decided to make it the title track.

It’s about feeling disconnected from the ones you love and the world around you. The solo and vocal where done first take and I really like the spontaneous vibe of the whole track. I am a huge fan of guitar ballads, this is where I am most self-indulgent.

“Liars Testament”:
I listened to a lot of rock music while we were making this album. This track is influenced by a 70's Deep Purple kind of vibe. The riff carries through the verses and the guitar playing is some of the heaviest I have done. This was a slight departure for me, and a lot of fun. I can’t wait to play it live.

“Someday the Rains Will Fall”:
John Mellencamp wrote this. I thought that this song just really fit in well with the whole theme of the album. It’s probably one of my rare acoustic outings.

“Truth or Dare”:
I wanted at least one track with my full touring Big Band line-up, and this is it. A rocking Blues track that should be a lot of fun to play live. The band did a great job, and again, we decided to capture the energy of the live performance as much as possible.

“Shouting at the Moon”:
A ballad I wrote for my dad. It's a song about the last night we spent together before he passed away. Richard Hammerton's production and writing really helped us bring this to fruition. I choose to write, both lyrically and musically, in the style that my father loved. So it is a little different, with a kind of falsetto vocal in the chorus. It’s a proper window to the soul, I hope people enjoy it.

“Sister Decline”:
I love the energy of this track and think this will become a live favourite. Lyrically, it is a song about temptation and addiction. I like the way the keys carry the verse and then you get the riff kick in. This is where Blues and Rock collide, it’s like an old Blues shuffle meets contemporary rock.

“May I Have A Talk with You”:
This is an old Blues classic and long-time favourite of mine that we cut live in the studio.

“Yours for a Song”:
This is what I describe as a power ballad. Dave Raeburn kills it on drums on this song.

UK Tour Dates 2018:
07 May Bilston, Robin 2*
08 May Cambridge, The Junction*
09 May London, Islington O2 Academy 2*
10 May Aberdeen, The Tunnels*
11 May Derby, The Flowerpot*
12 May St Helens, The Citadel*
13 May Bishops Cleeve, Tithe Barn*
07 June Norwich, Waterfront
08 June Fleet, The Harlington
09 June Narberth, The Queens Hall
10 June Tavistock, The Wharf
12 June Dublin, Whelan's
13 June Belfast, The Empire
14 June Glasgow, Oran Mor
16 June Cleethorpes Blues Festival
17 June Stamford Blues Festival
*with special guest Steve Hill