Conception to release new studio album “State of Deception” on April 3rd 2020

Conception State of Deception cover
Legendary Norwegian progressive / power metallers Conception are set to release the album “State of Deception” on April 3rd, 2020, their first full length offering in over two decades!

Following on from 2018’s successful EP release, “My Dark Symphony”, this album will once again be released via their own Conception Sound Factory label, and will be accompanied by a full European tour (see tour dates below).

It follows a twenty year interval during which band members Roy Khan, Tore Østby, Ingar Amlien and Arve Heimdal remained friends throughout, and the album release marks the full-circle evolution of the band.

Says lead singer Roy Khan: “The reception we’ve had from fans made recording a new album almost inevitable; they’d have rioted if we didn’t get this out! But we’re mightily proud of what we have put together here; I actually think it’s the best thing I’ve ever been involved in. We can’t wait to share it with everyone!”...

In fact, reflecting the band’s desire for an entirely direct relationship with their fans, the album is wholly fan-funded. Moreover, “State of Deception” is wholly self-produced, benefits from the stellar mix skills of Stefan Glaumann (Rammstein, Within Temptation, Europe etc), and is comprised of 9 tracks in total.

Guitarist Tore Østby explains further: “Producing this new album has been an emotional and exciting process, digging deeper into the heart and soul of the band than ever before. The result is dynamic and intense, it really feels like we managed to capture the state of Conception 2020!”...

“State of Deception” perfectly captures the band’s trademark breadth of progressive sound, from symphonic melodrama to rock riff utopia, and also features eminent Amaranthe vocalist Elize Ryd.

Pre-order “State of Deception” here. Pre-save the new album here.

1. in: Deception (01:46)
2. Of Raven and Pigs (04:45)
3. Waywardly Broken (04:38)
4. No Rewind (03:11)
5. The Mansion (04:35)
6. By the Blues (03:59)
7. Anybody out There (05:25)
8. She Dragoon (04:56)
9. Feather Moves (06:04)

European Tour Dates 2020:
Apr. 24 - Stockholm, Sweden @ Fryshuset
May 07 - Barcelona, Spain @ Salamandra
May 08 - Madrid, Spain @ Shoko
May 09 - Lisbon, Portugal @ Lisboa Ao Vivo
May 14 - Amsterdam, Holland @ Melkweg Oz
May 15 - Paris, France @ La Maroquinerie
May 16 - Esch-Sur-Alzette, Luxembourg @ Rockhal
May 17 - Zurich, Switzerland @ Dynamo
May 30 - Oslo, Norway @ Rockefeller

Get tickets here.

Tore Østby / Guitars
Ingar Amlien / Bass
Arve Heimdal / Drums
Roy Khan / Vocals