Clare Free releases music video for new single “Where Are You Now?”

Clare Free Where Are You Now? single cover
Sublime blues guitar songstress, Clare Free, is back after seven years with a brand new single, the title track from her new album, “Where Are You Now?”.

The single is out on Fri 21 Feb across all download and streaming sites, with the 10-song album to be released on Fri 06 March, 2020.

Having taken a break from recording to raise her youngest child, “Where Are You Now?” is her first release since her acclaimed “Dust and Bones” album in 2012.

And the production team behind the new release reads like a who’s who of the modern music industry, including Richard Flack, Bob Kidby & Frank Arkwright.

Clare explains: “I went for lunch at the Old Jet Arts hub which is run by Jesse Quin of Keane. While I was there, I met the massively acclaimed music producer Richard Flack.  Richard is Robbie Williams’ producer, and he also works with other huge artists including Tina Turner, Olly Murs, Rudamental, the Spice Girls, Pulp, Stereophonics, INXS the list goes on and on.

We got chatting and I mentioned to Richard that I wanted to record a new album. When I spoke to him a couple of weeks later, he said he would be interested in producing and mixing it as long as we worked well together, and he invited me into the studio to do a trial song to see how we got on.

The test track went well, and we all enjoyed working together, so Richard said, if I could fit in the recording in the days he had between flying back and forth to LA etc we could do it. I jumped at the chance and what an opportunity it was! Working on the album with Richard was fantastic, and Bob’s (Bob Kidby, Barn Studios) engineering skills are second to none. They got the absolute best out of me.

Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road did the mastering for me and wow, the album sounds absolutely amazing. I am so, so proud of it”.

Talking about the song, “Where Are You Now”, Clare said: “I love this song, I love the rhythm, the riffs, the lot. For me this is a proper rock n roll song! I wrote it one rainy night with the rain hammering on the window. I had been looking around on social media to see if I could find some friends from my college days and I wondered specifically about one person.  It took a few days to write and I didn’t add the main riff until much later, initially I just wrote it for myself, but as it developed it became obvious that this song was a real keeper”.

The cover art was done by Clare Free.

Pre-order “Where Are You Now?” here. The new album will be released on CD in gatefold digipak and across all streaming and download platforms.

1. Where Are You Now?
2. Did The Right Thing
3. Scars
4. She Can’t Buy
5. Thank You
6. Gimme Rock ‘n’ Roll
7. Let Me Down Easy
8. Bitch
9. Little Miss Jealousy
10. Nice Girls

“Where Are You Now?” was recorded at The Barn Studios. Suffolk. The album was produced and mixed by Richard Flack, engineered and co-produced by Bob Kidby and mastered by Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road Studios.

Clare Free - All guitars and lead vocals
Jamie Kruppa - Bass
Dave Jackson - Drums
Bob Kidby - Backing vocals, harmonica and percussion
Line-up (live):
Clare Free - Vocals / Guitar
Jack Sunaway - Bass
Matt Furness - Drums