Cathexis to release debut album “Untethered Abyss” on June 25th 2021

Cathexis Untethered Abyss cover
Rising Death Metal force Cathexis has signed with Willowtip Records! The band will release their debut album “Untethered Abyss” on June 25th, 2021, on CD, vinyl, and digital formats.

The album’s first single, “Mortuus In Perpetuum”, has been released and is streaming now below.

“Untethered Abyss” is the culmination of six years of painstaking songwriting and a carefully selected cast of international talent amassed to bring forward a finely tuned and unrelenting piece of modern death metal.

“Untethered Abyss” is eight tracks of tightly focused death metal with a production that captures the humanity and unfiltered energy each musician displays in every performance. The band’s focus on holistic songwriting seeks to create naturally flowing and memorable tracks where every riff’s place within the song is carefully considered to maintain internal consistency and create meaningful arcs within the music, rather than meander through detached ideas.

Cathexis strives to make unique and forward thinking death metal that pays tribute to the genres basest and most satisfying elements.

Pre-order “Untethered Abyss” here.

1. Horizonless Realm of Mechanical Retribution
2. Given to the Colony
3. Harrowing Manifestation
4. Red Hook
5. Library of Babel
6. Mortuus in Perpetuum
7. Isolated Malevolence
8. Reanimated Kin

Album Credits:
• Drums, Vocals recorded by Julian Gargiulo of The Machine Shop | Dripping Springs, USA
• Reamping, Mixing by Jeanne Strieder of Magma Art & Sound | Berlin, Germany
• Mastering by Colin Marston of Menegroth, The Thousand Caves | Queens, USA
• Cover Painting by Rodrigo Pereira Salvatierra of Absolute.Desert_Art | Calama, Chile
• Album Layout by Erik Bredthauer of Necro Blanca Photography | Leander, USA
• Portraits by Chris Vickroy | New Braunfels, USA

Ian Bishop: Vocals
Chris Hillam: Guitar Left
Sam Kang: Guitar Right
Oscar Martinez: Bass
Felix Garza III: Drums