Brimstone Coven to release “Black Magic” on January 29th 2016

Brimstone Coven Black Magic cover
On January 29th 2016, West Virginian dark occult rockers Brimstone Coven will release their first full-length album, “Black Magic”, via Metal Blade Records!

Recorded at Andrew D’Cagna’s Sacred Sound Studios in Ohio, “Black Magic” was mostly written over a year period against a backdrop of candles, incense, solitude, and a thick air of ganja.

The resulting record boasts gritty, groovy riffs (a la Black Sabbath, Pentagram, Led Zeppelin) with Pink Floydian psychedelic movements, and three-part vocal harmonies reminiscent of the Mamas and Papas, Yes, and The Byrds. For a preview of “Black Magic”, the video for the album’s title track can be viewed below.

“Black Magic” can be pre-ordered in various formats here.

1. Black Magic
2. Black Unicorn
3. Beyond the Astral
4. As We Fall
5. Upon the Mountain
6. Slow Death
7. The Seers
8. The Plague
9. Forsaken
10. The Eldest Tree

Formed only four short years ago in Wheeling, West Virginia, Brimstone Coven self-released “Brimstone Coven” and its follow-up “II” in 2013, before Metal Blade inked a deal and packaged both releases as a single set, entitled “Brimstone Coven” (2014). Inspired by the Appalachian’s darkness and mysticism (such as the Mothman, a winged creature that emerged in the ’60s; Screaming Jenny; and the Phantom of Flatwoods), the quartet’s heavy rock also pushes the atmospheric envelope when the mood fits.

Brimstone Coven explains: “What sets "Black Magic" apart to me is the genuinely eerie aura it invokes. We strove for a sound that makes you feel like you’re wandering through a shroud of mist, unable to see your own hand in front of your face. We want you to feel equally excited and creeped out, letting your imagination run wild and get the best of you”.

“Big John” Williams – vocals
Corey Roth – guitar
Andrew D’Cagna – bass
Justin Wood – drums