Andrew Golding to release debut solo album “Dragon Welding” on March 15th 2019

Andrew Golding Dragon Welding cover
Andrew Golding, founding member of C86 pioneers The Wolfhounds, has announced his debut solo album under the moniker (a.k.a. anagram) “Dragon Welding”.

Ahead of this mid-March via A Turntable Friend Records, he presents the lead track “The Builders”. Listen to the new track below.

“Dragon Welding” is Golding’s first solo album and a remarkable effort, covering different genres, including alternative pop rock and indie-folk. As guitarist, writer and multi-instrumentalist, Andrew Golding has been a part of Wolfhounds since 1984 and has written, played and sung on every Wolfhounds album.

“The Builders” is an epic six-minute hypnotic journey à la Moonshake. It is about the gentrification of our cities. Andrew Golding himself also animated the accompanying video for this song.

Musically, Dragon Welding features a rich blend of influences, the most obvious being The Wolfhounds and Moonshake, with nods to Neu! and Stereolab drone, particularly on “The Builders”. Other tracks like “The Dumb” or the driving “These are Dangerous Times” offer an eclectic mix of acoustic guitars and analog synths, reminiscent of German cult band The Notwist.

The “Dragon Welding” LP was largely written, recorded, mixed and edited on mobile devices whilst commuting between Essex, Hammersmith and Los Angeles. Final mastering was supervised by Ant Chapman (Collapsed Lung and Arndales).

This debut LP features contributions from Alice Golding (The Othyrs and Wolfhounds backing vocals) and son James Golding. The album’s cover artwork was conceived and painted by his wife Helen.

As of March 15th, this album will be available everywhere digitally via A Turntable Friend Records with distribution worldwide by SRD (London, UK). The download comes with digital booklet including lyrics. It will also be issued as a limited-edition 11-track CD in gatefold and is now available for order via Bandcamp and Limited Run.

1. Dirty Stick
2. The Builders
3. One Miserable Summer
4. These are Dangerous Times
5. Slap
6. Join the Dots
7. The Dumb
8. Bucket List No. 1
9. Bucket List No. 2
10. Solidarité
11. Lament for Common Sense