NYOS to release new studio album “Now.” on February 22nd 2019

NYOS Now. cover
Now is the time to dive into some very special soundscapes like you have never heard them from a 2-piece band before, as the Finnish instrumental noise duo NYOS returns with their fourth album “Now.”!

Today the critically acclaimed band, who just came back home from an extensive European tour with Zeal & Ardor, unleashed the first details about “Now.”, due out on February 22nd, 2019!

The band's main focus whilst writing “Now.” was to work without limits to make the most creative and varied release possible, moving away from predictable dynamics and formulaic songs. Tracks like “High Five” and “Aveiro” (which the band improvised in the studio) show that new direction quite clearly, and the album takes the listener through a real variety of moods and emotions during this 39minutes run. A first sound appetizer and album teaser has just been revealed - check it out below.
Like their previous releases, “Now.” was recorded in October 2018 at Tonehaven Recording Studio by guitarist Tom Brooke and mastered by Mandy Parnell (Bjork, Aphex Twin etc) and features a cover artwork from UK-based photographer Howie Hill.

1. Urgence
2. High Five
3. L.W.P.
4. Zebracazebra
5. Tiglio
6. Mutante
7. Death Star
8. Aveiro

NYOS is a noisy, loop-driven instrumental duo based in Finland. The band formed 2014 when UK-born guitarist Tom Brooke and drummer Tuomas Kainulainen met after Tom moved to Finland. Bonded by a mutual love of noisy bands, coffee and playing shows, they wrote their first record “Vltava”, a 26 minute one-track piece, over the winter of 2014 and have been touring constantly since mid 2015, taking their (literal) wall of noise out to more than 200 gigs in over 20 countries!

NYOS self-published 2014's “Vltava”, and 2016's follow up album “Nature”, both were recorded at Tonehaven Studio by guitarist Tom Brooke, and released on CD, LP and cassette. Their third album, “Navigation” was released in September 2017 as a collaborative release with Karlsruhe based Meta Matter Records. “Navigation”, which received widespread praise from both fans and the press, was again recorded and mixed by Tom and mastered by the world-renowned Mandy Parnell (Bjork, Aphex Twin, Sigur Ros).

On February 22nd, 2019, and in their typical DIY-manners, the band will self-release album number 4, “Now.”, on which the band threw all rules and formulas out of the window and focussed solely on making the most captivating, varied, interesting and fresh-sounding record they could.

Stay tuned for many more album news, tunes and an extensive touring cycle to follow soon!