Need to release new studio album “Norchestrion: A Song for the End” on January 12th 2021

Need Norchestrion cover
Greece’s leading prog metal group Need return with their long-awaited fifth album, “Norchestrion: A Song for the End” on January 12th, 2021, via Ikaros Records.

“Norchestrion” will be released on digipack CD, double vinyl LP (with a limited edition of golden vinyl), a limited edition boxset, and on all digital platforms.

The first glimpse of the record, lead single “Nemmortal”, will be released 5th November, alongside pre-orders via Bandcamp.

5th November is no random date - it holds a special place in the band’s heart as it’s the date of their first live show in 2005, making the release of “Nemmortal” their 15th anniversary. 

In honour of the anniversary, Need will re-release all their out-of-stock back catalogue. More news on this soon.

“Norchestrion” follows Need’s critically acclaimed LP “Hegaiamas: A Song for Freedom”, and is by far the band’s most ambitious and adventurous album to date.

Throughout “Norchestrion”’s 66-minute run-time, fans will see Need experiment with new elements, whilst maintaining the characteristics that have – in their fifteen years of existence – made them one of Greece’s most fêted rock groups.

1. Avia
2. Beckethead
3. Nemmortal
4. Bloodlux
5. V.a.d.i.s.
6. Norchestrion
7. Circadian
8. Ananke
9. Kinwind
The touring cycle of “Hegaiamas” resulted in an impressive 72 shows worldwide, including a 24-date run across the USA and Canada, and then a 22-date EU run, both with Sweden’s Evergrey. Need also performed at the 20th Anniversary Edition of ProgPower Europe (Netherlands) and SoundArt Fest (Romania). The band also supported Fates Warning, Pain Of Salvation, and Coroner in Greece, and undertook multiple headline tours across their home country and throughout Eastern Europe – including headlining Prog Over Athens in late 2017.

Elements of the best of modern melodic prog and powerful symphonic metal combine to create a thrilling and highly rewarding listen in “Norchestrion: A Song for the End”. Elements of Dream Theater, Pain of Salvation, and Nevermore can be heard, all while remaining uniquely Need.

Cover art was created by Dimitris Tsoutsas, who is also responsible for the artwork of “Orvam: A Song for Home” and “The Wisdom Machine”. The album’s mix and master was handled by Hector D at hd factory.

Jon Voyager - Vocals
George Ravaya - Guitar, vocals
Anthony Hadjee - Keyboards, vocals
Stelios Paschalis - Drums
Viktor Kouloubis - Bass