Monsterworks to release new studio album “Malignment” on October 2nd 2020

Monsterworks Malignment cover
Prolific Super Metal Force Monsterworks will release new album “Malignment” on October 2nd, 2020, via Eat Lead and Die Music.

Opening track “Impending Doom” is streaming now below.

After over a decade producing material based on various existential themes, “Malignment” returns Monsterworks to the storyline created for the metal space adventure concept albums “Spacial Operations” (2007) and “Singularity”(2009). “Malignment” serves as both a prequel and sequel where the strikeship Magma Maiden, having disappeared with her pilot Nate during the Blastnet offensive (a major event in the “Singularity” album), crash lands in the Eritrean mountains of a near-future Earth. Nate is mortally wounded and his only hope of survival is to be fused with the ship’s A.I.. The procedure is successful but permanently affects the young man’s perception of reality. Now alone and with no means of return to his friends and family, two hundred years before his own birth, Nate must find a way to subsist in the world; while attempting to keep his origins, technology and capabilities hidden.

Vocalist/Guitarist Jon says: “This album will seem like a long time coming, since the band had been releasing something every year like clockwork for quite a while. We missed 2019 - sorry! Or did we? Anyway, it feels good to be back, and to take the Spacial Operations story further and to a conclusion of sorts”.

“Malignment” was recorded over a two-year period in various studios and bunkers; finally pieced together, mixed and mastered by Damian Herring (Horrendous, Blood Incantation) May-July 2020 (subterraneanwatchtower). Front cover artwork excellently imagined by

“Malignment” is available as a 24-bit download and gatefold CD (mini-LP format) with 8-page lyric booklet here. While waiting for release day, check out “Spacial Operations” and “Singularity” on Bandcamp to get up to light speed with the story (yeah, good luck with working that out!).

1. Impending Doom
2. Pre-Emptive Strike
3. Harness the Engine
4. Post Everything
5. Ice and Awe
6. Contemplating Godhood
7. Eye of Darkness
8. Golden Age

Jon - Guitars/Vocals
Hugo - Bass
James - Drums
Marcus - Guitars