Halshug to release new studio album “Drøm” on July 19th 2019

Halshug Drøm cover
Halshug, the Copenhagen-based trio, release a third studio album titled “Drøm” (“Dream”) on July 19th, 2019, through Southern Lord on LP and DL formats.

On “Drøm” the band expand their sound from the dirgy d-beat of their earlier albums “Sort sind” (2016) and “Blodets bånd” (2015), and explore the dynamics of longer songs, more audible lyrics, and altered tempos, which result in different shades of industrial, dark-wave, and post-punk.
According to the trio, the title refers to a wider theme of the record which views dreams as “a succession of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that occur involuntarily in the mind. And also sort of a vision, or a wanting of something more than just what is”. The band continues “the dream is volatile. It can burst. One moment it felt real, and moments later it can’t even be recalled”.
Other ideas come into play too “a lot of the songs are about mirrors. The intimacy that is in privacy, alone with oneself. And the cathartic moments where interaction becomes wordless. They are mostly scenes or clips from dreams, that could have looked like either old movies or scenes from the hang-out area at a rave. Some of them are recollections of things that have happened, but most of them are dreamt or felt. Some songs are about dominance and submission, about letting go, either trusting or just not caring. Some of them are also statements, metaphorical or literate, about being subordinate as an individual in a complex power structure”.

To summarise on their intent, the band remark “the whole idea is to create a medium through which we can forward true human energy. It’s about lust, guts and a protest against reality. A wish of life. It’s not important to us what genre we end up playing, it just happened to be like this”.

Pre-order the album here.

1. Kæmper Imod
2. Dø Igen
3. Fantasi
4.Giv Alting Op
5. Spejl
6. 02.42
7. Tænk På Dig Selv
8. Ingen Kontrol
9. Et Andet Sted
10. Illusion
European Tour Dates 2019:
17 May - Berlin, DE - Kasteneinkeller
18 May - Hamburg, DE - Ask A Punk
22 May - Bremen, DE - Sportamt
23 May - Amsterdam, NL - OCCII
24 May - Kortijk, BE - The Pits
25 May - Frica, NL - Pitfest
7 Sep - Oslo, NO - Vaterland
12 Sep - Aalborg, DK - 1000Fryd
13 Sep - Aarhus, DK - Radar
14 Sep - KBH, DK Stengade
20 Sep - Gøteborg, SWE - Kulturhuset
27 Sep - Malmø, SWE - Plan B
28 Sep - Stockholm, SWE - Hus 7
“Drøm” was recorded by Simon Sonne (Orm) in Copenhagen, mixed at Dead Air Studio, MA, USA (The Men, Warthog, etc.) and mastered by Peter Peter (The Sods, Bleeder, etc.).
Halshug have been active in the Copenhagen underground rock scene with their gloomy hardcore-punk since late 2012. The band describe how in the past the vivid punk scene of the city “really used to feel like a movement, just like Berlin and a lot of other European cities do. And that feeling is mostly present when there are big fests like Nothing Nice to Say or K-Town Hardcore, but the rest of the time, it no longer feels that way”. They continue “the underground scene out here is much broader than the kind of sound we do. There are all sorts of noises coming together and sharing audiences and ideas, from Noise, punk, techno, drone, rock, and metal. We go out to see all kinds of things. And there are thoughts and drinks being shared across the whole spectrum”.
Further notes about their intentions in the band’s own words “when we started the band, we thought we’d to do something in the vein of Death Token and Infernöh that were both playing frequently at the time. And the whole D-Beat and UK82 punk thing was indisputably the starting point we had. But after a while we began to include a wider range of our personal original influences when we wrote new stuff. We all listened to grunge a lot when we were kids. Mathias has a heart for early danish punk and new wave like The Sods and Before. Mads really loves Metallica and Jakob gets lost in the weird and remote territories of music”.
Halshug have played many shows around Europe and in the USA since the release of their demo-tape in 2012, they have been nominated for a critic’s award and have played the biggest festivals in Denmark. To Halshug, touring remains one of the highlights of being a band. As they explain: “touring together is one of the best things about being Halshug. We really like spending time together and going places. We’ve been all over Europe, visited Russia a few times and did a small tour in the US back in 2016. Going on the road on the East Coast with Haram and Extended Hell in ‘16 was a lot of fun. Good company and great bands. At that time we had just released our second LP with Southern Lord, Sort Sind, and it was a very fun year. We played Roskilde Festival, which was very special to us. That year, Diät, Protomartyr and At the Drive-in also played. We’ve played a few larger festivals so far, but Roskilde has a special place in our hearts, maybe because it’s where we discovered a lot of music growing up. We would jump the fence or save up all year just to experience it, and we would be exposed to all kinds of music. Finally getting to play there ourselves was cool”.

Jakob Johnsen – Bass & vocals
Mathias Schønberg – Guitar
Mads Folmer Richter – Drums