Figures to release debut full-length album “Operating in Unsafe Mode” on July 17th 2020

Figures Operating in Unsafe Mode cover
From Parkway Drive to Northlane, Twelve Foot Ninja, Voyager and beyond, the Australian music scene has consistently produced a plethora of stand-out modern metal acts for fans to enjoy. Announcing pre-orders and the upcoming release of their debut album “Operating in Unsafe Mode”, Melbourne-based quintet Figures step up to join the fight with the release of the album’s first video single, “Underpaid Machinery”. Watch it below.

“Operating in Unsafe Mode” will be released on Friday July 17th, 2020, with pre-orders for the record going live this Friday June 12th, here. On the same day, fans will be able to stream the taut, progressive and politically-charged “Underpaid Machinery” - their first taste of music from the record. The single premiered in the UK on the BBC Radio 1 Rock Show with Daniel P Carter, and was subsequently featured on Triple J’s The Racket in Australia.

Not wanting to keep fans waiting too long, the band have made the music video for “Underpaid Machinery” available to watch on YouTube right now. Equal parts soaring melodies, blistering riffs and rage, Figures’ latest single release hones in on an hotly-covered topic that has been dominating Australian mainstream media - the theft of working citizen’s wages via underpayment from corporate employers.

Figures vocalist Mark Tronson comments on the personal influences that sparked the fires of their latest single release:
“As I was a worker in the hospitality community that had been personally affected by these scandals in the past, I had a lot of first hand experience and pent up rage about it. There’s a definite wartime battle ground aesthetic going on with this song, and I wanted the vocals in the verses to imitate lobbing grenades, explosions and machine gun fire”.

Figures’ upcoming studio album follows two acclaimed EPs - “Self Titled” (2016) and “Chronos” (2017) - as well as performances with the likes of Hed (p.e.), Pop Evil, Mammal, Voyager and Twelve Foot Ninja. Add to that the band’s status as PROGFEST regulars and headline act of 2018’s AMPED Festival, and “Operating in Unsafe Mode” - a record that explores themes of dehumanisation, isolation and oppression, all through the idea of mass media influence and manipulation - stands as a long-awaited and welcome treat for fans and newcomers of the band.

If a new album, single and video wasn’t enough to sate the needs of metal fans across the globe, on the evening of June 12th, Figures will be hosting a very special livestream performance to celebrate the album announcement and single launch. The livestream will be produced by Woohah Productions at Studio 45 and will be going live at 8pm AEST (11am BST) at Figures’ Facebook page, here.
Figures’ debut album “Operating in Unsafe Mode” will be released on Friday July 17th. Pre-orders can be made here as of Friday 12th June.

1. Failure to React
2. Syntax
3. Someone Uninvited
4. Underpaid Machinery
5. Another Injustice
6. Inside You’re Alone
7. Force Feeding
8. Matrix Love
9. The Circle Bends
10. Pedestals

Mark Tronson - Vocals
Paul Callow - Guitar
Josh Gibson - Guitar
Jen Fletcher - Bass
Adam Zaffarese - Drums