Deep Purple to release new studio album “Whoosh!” on June 12th 2020

Deep Purple Whoosh! cover
March 20th sees the release of “Throw My Bones”, the first single from Deep Purple’s highly anticipated studio album “Whoosh!”.

“Throw My Bones” is a song to remember; a powerful insight into the bands 21st studio album.

Watch the video for “Throw My Bones” below. Stream and download the new single here.

The single is accompanied by a music video that pushes the boundaries of time and place. It is an invitation to take a step back and see the bigger picture, a call for action and an invitation to observe the planet and the current situation on earth.

Deep Purple’s brand-new studio album “Whoosh!” follows their worldwide chart-topping albums “inFinite” (2017) and “NOW What?!” (2013). For the third time, Deep Purple joins forces with producer Bob Ezrin, and together they created the most versatile album in their collaboration, “stretching out in all directions” without any limitation, letting their creativity go.

“Deep Purple is putting the Deep back into Purple” was the half-joking motto in the studio after the first songs made it clear that Ezrin and Purple were on a path to creating an album pushing the boundaries of time, while voicing their resentment about the current situation of the world and addressing all generations.

“Whoosh is an onomatopoeic word that, when viewed through one end of a radio-telescope, describes the transient nature of humanity on Earth; and, through the other end from a closer perspective, illustrates the career of Deep Purple”, comments Ian Gillan.

“We’ve included everything that made the whole band smile, including Bob Ezrin. We’ve always enjoyed making music and having the incredible luxury of a loyal audience”, says Steve Morse.

“Whoosh!” will be available as Limited CD+DVD Mediabook (incl. the 1h feature “Roger Glover and Bob Ezrin in conversation” and, for the first time, the full live performance at Hellfest 2017 as video), 2LP+DVD Edition, Limited Boxset and Digital on June 12th, 2020 on earMusic.

The Limited Box Set will contain the 2LP Gatefold, the CD+DVD Mediabook, three 10" vinyls containing previously unreleased live recordings from Deep Purple’s performance in Rio 2017 “The inFinite Live Recordings, Vol. 2”, an exclusive Deep Purple Collector’s T-Shirt as well as three Art Prints.

Pre-order “Whoosh!” here.

1. Throw My Bones
2. Drop the Weapon
3. We’re All the Same in the Dark
4. Nothing at All
5. No Need to Shout
6. Step by Step
7. What the What
8. The Long Way Round
9. The Power of the Moon
10. Remission Possible
11. Man Alive
12. And the Address
13. Dancing in My Sleep

Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Ian Paice, Steve Morse and Don Airey continue to travel the scope of hard rock — the textures and nuances of their recent works are anything but thudding re-treads. If you set a random play setting for the band’s entire catalogue, the result is one of the finest musical outputs to grace rock music.

The band’s 20th studio album “inFinite” has become one of their most successful albums ever. It broke chart records accumulated by the hard rock legends over an impressive 50-year history, becoming their highest charting album worldwide since their milestone 1984 reunion album “Perfect Strangers”. It entered the German Official Album Charts at #1, having been awarded Gold for over 100.000 copies sold and, moreover, reached the Top 10 in an impressive number of 10 countries worldwide.

It followed the release of “NOW What?!” (2013), which charted at #1 in 5 European countries, the Top 10 in over 15 countries worldwide and earned Gold Status in Germany for over 100.000 copies sold.

In recent years, Deep Purple has progressively moved into new areas, piquing the interest of fans who were not born when the mighty Purple machine ruled the music world. Their holy grail of “In Rock” (1970), “Machine Head” (1972) and “Made in Japan” (1973) catapulted Deep Purple to the top in concert grosses and album sales around the world, with tracks such as “Smoke On The Water” ascending them to mega-status.

European Tour Dates 2020:
31.05.2020  Moscow – MEGASPORT ICE PALACE (RU)
03.06.2020  Istanbul – Lifepark (TR)
06.06.2020  Athens – Rockwave Festival (Terravibe Park) (GR)
20.06.2020  Clisson – HellFest (FR)
21.06.2020  Dessel – Graspop Metal Meeting (BE)
24.06.2020  Hamburg – Stadtpark Freilichtbühne (DE)
25.06.2020  Aalborg – Skovdalen (Open Air) (DK)
27.06.2020  Oslo – Tons of Rock Ekeberg (NO)
30.06.2020  Paris (Boulogne Billancourt) – La Seine Musicale (FR)
01.07.2020  Nimes – Festival De Nimes Les Arenes (FR)
03.07.2020  Klam – Clam Rock (AT)
04.07.2020  Eisenstadt – Lovely Days (AT)
06.07.2020  Bologna – Bologna Sonic Park (IT)
08.07.2020  Sion – Sion sous Sion sous les étoiles (CH)
10.07.2020  Bonn – Kunst Rasen Granau (DE)
11.07.2020  Rosenheim – Rosenheim Sommerfestival (DE)
14.07.2020  Halle (Saale) – Freilichtbühne Peißnitz (DE)
15.07.2020  Mainz – Open Air Volkspark Mainz (DE)
17.07.2020  St Julien en Genevois – Guitare en Scene Festival (FR)
18.07.2020  Brombach – Lieder Am See (DE)
20.07.2020  Carcassone – Festival De Carcassone Theatre Jean Deschamps (FR)
22.07.2020  Lörrach – Stimmen Festival (DE)
24.07.2020  Colmar – Festival De La Foire Aux Vins de Colmar Parc Des expositions (FR)
26.09.2020  Stockholm – Hovet Ice Hall (SE)
27.09.2020  Gothenburg – Partille Arena (SE)
29.09.2020  Copenhagen – Royal Arena (DK)
02.10.2020  Manchester – Manchester Arena (GB)
03.10.2020  London – O2 (London) (GB)
05.10.2020  Glasgow – Hydro (GB)
06.10.2020  Leeds – FD Arena (GB)
08.10.2020  Birmingham – Arena (Birmingham) (GB)
10.10.2020  Luxembourg – Rockhal (LU)
13.10.2020  Berlin – Max Schmeling Halle (DE)
14.10.2020  Lodz – Atlas Arena (PL)
16.10.2020  Stuttgart – Schleyer-Halle (DE)
17.10.2020  Oberhausen – KP Arena (DE)
19.10.2020  Milan – Forum (IT)
20.10.2020  Zurich – Hallenstadion (CH)
22.10.2020  Lille – Zenith (FR)
24.10.2020  Dijon – Zenith (FR)
26.10.2020  Clermont Ferrand – Zenith D’Auvergne (FR)
28.10.2020  Amsterdam – Ziggo Dome (NL)