Curses to release new studio album “Chapter ll: Bloom” on August 7th 2020

Curses Chapter ll: Bloom cover
Emerging West Virginian metalcore band Curses has officially joined the roster of SharpTone Records. Riding a wave of buzz from millions of streams over the last few years, the five-piece will enter the next stage of their career with a new label and their second full-length album, “Chapter ll: Bloom”, coming on August 7th, 2020.
Today, the band has revealed the forthcoming record’s first new song, “The Door in the Wall”, which is available now at all streaming services and via the intense new video below.

“This is a song about finding beauty in the impermanent, transient nature of existence. It paints the conflict and suffering we experience within ourselves and in the world around us as catalysts for growth. Our ultimate strength lies within our inescapable ending”, comments the band.

The Princeton, West Virginia quintet - Brando Casto [vocals], Eli Fry [vocals], Davey Nicewander [guitar], Michael Olivares [bass, vocals],and Shane Cyrus [drums] arrived on the scene in 2017 with the vicious, roaring debut “Chapter I: Introspect”, that featured the massive, fan-favorite singles “The Abandoned” and “Fortune Collapse” (feat. Periphery frontman Spencer Sotelo). Following a year of solid touring and festival appearances, the band returned to the studio in late 2019/early 2020 to record their heavily anticipated “Chapter II: Bloom”. Now armed with seasoned experience, new-found depth and maturity and a refined skillset, Curses enter the next phase of their story with one of metalcore’s most promising records of 2020.
Listeners get a taste of what’s to come from “Chapter ll: Bloom” with “The Door in the Wall”. On the track, precise pummeling gives way to bone-breaking verses before a sweeping clean refrain. The riffs start and stop on a dime as the call-and-response between Eli and Brandon transfixes.
Discussing the band’s natural evolution of sound, Eli says: “I was new on "Chapter I". When we did this album, I had a few more years of experience under my belt and a grasp on what I wanted to add. We knew what we wanted to write about. We knew how to make the music more diverse and more technical while keeping the colorful and catchy choruses to add a balance. We preserve our roots, but expand them”.

Pre-order “Chapter ll: Bloom” here.

1. Almost Heaven
2. The Door in the Wall
3. 无为
4. Toska
5. Amethyst
6. Wetiko
7. Breathe
8. Ascent
9. Follow the Fire
10. Welcome Back

Brandon Casto: Vocals
Eli Fry: Vocals
Davey Nicewander: Guitar
Michael Olivares: Bass/Vocals
Shane Cyrus: Drums