hippie rock

The Sword to release two compilation albums “Conquest of Kingdoms” and “Chronology 2006–2018” on June 5th 2020

It’s been two years since the Austin, Texas heavy rockers decided to take a break, but The Sword are unsheathed once more: Two career-spanning collections will be released simultaneously, both showcasing the technically dazzling, riff-heavy and far-reaching metal that the band has been known for since forming 15 years ago.

Sunset Eyes to release debut single “Hey Baby” on September 27th 2019

Sunset Eyes began as jam sessions with Ola Himberg (guitar) and Vegard Liverød (bass/vocals) and lots of friends. A wild André Drage appeared on drums, booked a gig and claimed they should start a band. Some jams, songs and gigs later the band figured that they were missing something. Magnus Johansen joined on Hammond, and the sounds emanating from the guys’ heads was complete.

Children Of The Sün sign with The Sign Records and announce debut album “Flowers”

Children Of The Sün joins The Sign Records. The band will release their debut album “Flowers” on July 26th, 2019.
“Her Game” is the first single from the upcoming album and will be out the 6th of June. The Swedish band is influenced by the American music scene during the 60s and 70s. They hold a timeless sound that is not often heard of today. There is a lot of focus on vocal harmonies in the bands music, something that brings a feel good mood to the music.

The Sword to release new studio album “Used Future” on March 23rd 2018

The Sword will release their sixth studio album, “Used Future”, on March 23rd, 2018.

The album was recorded in Portland, Oregon with producer Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, The Decemberists, First Aid Kit).

Pre-order “Used Future” here.

1. Prelude
2. Deadly Nightshade
3. Twilight Sunrise
4. The Wild Sky
5. Intermezzo
6. Sea of Green
7. Nocturne
8. Don’t Get Too Comfortable
9. Used Future
10. Come and Gone
11. Book of Thoth

Perfect Blue Sky to release new single “Astronaut” on October 20th 2017

The single to be released on October 20th, 2017, and is taken from the new album, “The Eye of Tilos”. The video was filmed in July by award winning fine arts photographer Mikaela Holmberg in Finland.

Following the success of their recent UK radio tour, Perfect Blue Sky has a nationwide UK tour planned for November 2017.

The “Astronaut” video can be viewed below.

1. Astronaut (2.52)
2. Wasteland (3.51)

Perfect Blue Sky - The Eye of Tilos

Perfect Blue Sky, by their name alone intrigued me. Their album “The Eye of Tilos” is the second attempt to conquer the world, by Perfect Blue Sky, a bizarre duo from Sweden and Australia, not exactly the closest of countries one would expect people to start and maintain a music project from. Still they seem to go against the grain and to not be too bothered, with their laid back acoustic style based on long jam style sections for the most part, not fighting too hard for “world domination” – rather being hippily happy to exist.

Shawn James & The Shapeshifters announce Summer 2017 European Tour

Shawn James has garnered an immense social media following, particularly on YouTube where his music videos are routinely seen by millions of fans.

Last December Shawn James's song “Through the Valley” was pushed to the top of the Spotify “Most Viral” Chart by the debut of the Sony PlayStation trailer for the gory action-adventure video game developed by Naughty Dog, called “The Last of Us Part II”.

Game Revolution commented: “While the trailer... didn't necessarily break the internet, it certainly put it on notice”.

Perfect Blue Sky to release new studio album “The Eye of Tilos” on May 19th 2017

Multinational Psychedelic Classic Rock band Perfect Blue Sky (Swe/Aus) are about to hit the road on May 16 for their first promotional tour in the United Kingdom.

They'll kick things off with radio visits at BBC Regionals and travel along the coastal roads for two solid weeks promoting the album and finish off with a record release show in London for their new album “The Eye of Tilos”, out on May 19th, 2017, via Right Recordings.

In addition, Soundcloud is currently streaming the first single and debut album track “Give You My Love”, to be released on May 12th, digital and as a music video.

Sir George Henry Martin, “the Fifth Beatle”, dies at the age of 90

Producer, composer, conductor, audio engineer and musician Sir George Henry Martin passed away on March 8th, 2016 at the age of 90. His death was announced by Ringo Starr on his Twitter account. The cause of death has not been announced.

George Martin was sometimes referred to as “the Fifth Beatle”.

Ringo Starr tweeted:
“God bless George Martin peace and love to Judy and his family love Ringo and Barbara George will be missed”.

Ringo also tweeted:
“Thank you for all your love and kindness George peace and love”.