progressive metal

Sanctuary signs with Century Media Records

Century Media Records is proud to announce the signing of the legendary Seattle metal band SANCTUARY. In 2010, four of the founding members, Warrel Dane, Jim Sheppard, Lenny Rutledge and Dave Budbill, came together to for a few select reunion performances. At first, it was just going to be a handful of shows, but the response and chemistry on stage was so overwhelming, the guys changed their minds. Now, some 20 years after they left off, Sanctuary will continue with their unique mix of US power metal, hard rock and progressive elements and begin work on a new LP. To complete the line-up, Brad Hull (Forced Entry) will be filling in for former guitar player Sean Blosi. A late 2013 release is planned.

Jordan Rudess is working on new Solo album

Dream Theater keyboardist Jordan Rudess recently teamed up with PledgeMusic to raise funds for the release of his upcoming solo projects. He plans to record a solo piano album, and his orchestral composition, "Explorations for Keyboard and Orchestra". Pledgers will gain access to exclusive content and experiences and PledgeMusic will keep them informed of the project’s status every step of the way.

Týr recruits George Kollias to track drums on new album

TÝR, hailing all the way from the Faroe Islands, are currently recording their new album with producer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Aborted, Mercenary) at his studios in Denmark. For drum tracking on this album, TÝR has enlisted the services of George Kollias, one of metal’s most accomplished drummers, primarily known for his work in Nile, as well as Nightfall. A video featuring drum tracking highlights, as well as a short message from Kollias, is streaming now below.

Oddland - European live dates & new video online

Finland's ODDLAND has just launched a guitar play-through for the track "Lines Of Silver Blood".
The band comments: "We decided to do the guitar play-through on this song because it probably has some of the most technical guitar parts of the album. We figured people might be interested to see how they´re played. The live guitar tracks were recorded on top of the album version, and Ville (our drummer) was in charge of shooting and editing the whole thing. Have a look, won't you"!

Aeon Zen

Hi Rich… The third release is not only your best so far but it will also give a major worldwide push to the band. We’ve named it the Best Album of January! Way to go!
R: Thanks so much, I really appreciate that! It’s really rewarding and humbling to see the praise for our new album, especially after the mammoth task that was involved with creating it!
Firstly tell us, how did you decide to make Aeon Zen a “full band” instead of a solo project that it was till now?

Aeon Zen - Enigma

Finally Aeon Zen or Rich Hinks who is the leading force behind them, became a proper band with a “permanent” singer, Andi Kravljaca, a drummer, Steve Burton, a keyboardist, Shaz, & a guitarist, Matt Shepherd. Rich of course is still the songwriter, producer/guitarist/bassist and also does some vocals for the band.

Tellus Requiem - Invictus (The 11th Hour) out on January 22nd, 2013

In celebration of their upcoming album release, Norway's TELLUS REQUIEM has launched a brand new website. The website is located at: and features upcoming tour dates, news merchandise, media, social network links and more.
The band described the websites design and meaning:
"The homepage is based on the artwork for our upcoming release; Invictus (The 11th Hour) done by Mr. Thomas Ewerhard. He has worked with other great artists like Symphony X, TOTO, Avantasia, Therion, Hammerfall, among others.

Threshold - European Tour announced

Legendary British progressive metal maestros THRESHOLD proclaim the MARCH of progress!
Matching the title of their highly successful new masterpiece “March Of Progress” (out via Nuclear Blast since August 24, 2012), the band will finally return to the European stages in March of 2013.
Guitarist Karl Groom states enthusiastically: “It will be great to be back on the road with THRESHOLD – and in particular to play songs from our latest album”!

Hypnotheticall signs with Logic(il)Logic records

Progressive metal band Hypnotheticall inked a deal with logic(il)logic Records to publish its new album "A Farewell To Gravity", scheduled for release in early 2013. 
The band, featuring Arthemis drummer Francesco "Kekko" Tresca, published its first full-length album "Dead World" in 2009.
You can watch "Let Life Be An Origami", the first extract from the upcoming album below.

Royal Hunt - 20th Anniversary Special Edition

Frontiers Records is pleased to announce the release of ROYAL HUNT celebrative Box Set release entitled “20th Anniversary – Special Edition” on November 23rd in Europe and January 21st in North America.
After the highly successful 20th anniversary tour in support of their latest album "Show Me How To Live", ROYAL HUNT celebrate the band’s 20th Anniversary with this very special “Best of” package including 3 CDs and one DVD.