The Wedding Present to release new album “Marc Riley Sessions Volume 2” on October 6th 2017

The Wedding Present Marc Riley Sessions Volume 2 cover
Few bands are so ingrained into the notion of the BBC radio session as The Wedding Present. Long time favourites of the late, great John Peel, David Gedge and his band appeared regularly on that legendary presenter’s BBC Radio 1 show and have continued their association with “Auntie” by performing many unforgettable sessions on the popular “Marc Riley Show” on BBC Radio 6 Music.
Due to the popularity of these sessions, The Wedding Present, in conjunction with Hatch Records and the BBC, have joined forces to produce a trilogy of releases featuring every momentous track performed for Marc’s award-winning show over a ten-year period.

Marc Riley Sessions Volume 2”, released on October 6th, 2017, includes songs taken from no less than eight of the band’s celebrated albums, including “Seamonsters”, the record-breaking Hit Parade releases and band’s most recent album, the critically acclaimed “Going, Going...”
Over twelve tracks [performed across three sessions from 2012, 2013 & 2014] the undeniable song writing brilliance of David Gedge is clearly evident. From the bounding, propulsive recklessness of “Back A Bit... Stop” (Valentina) to the harsh edges and sudden tempo changes of “Heather” (Seamonsters), The Wedding Present’s bass-driven, muscular riffs are a constant theme throughout. Gedge’s bittersweet lyrics and honest take on love are highlighted in such tracks as “The Girl From The DDR” (Valentina) and “Little Silver” (Going, Going...). Other memorable moments include a frenzied cover of The Monkees' “Pleasant Valley Sunday” and a rapturous performance of “Flying Saucer” [both taken from the Hit Parade series of singles] along with a rousing “It’s A Gas” and a heartfelt “Spangle” - complete with an apologetic Gedge clearing his throat mid-verse - from the Watusi album.
The award-winning Marc Riley Show is one of the most popular shows on BBC Radio 6 Music, championing cutting edge sounds of today alongside iconic recordings from the past 40 years. An avid Wedding Present fan himself, Riley, with his team of producers, has formed a close bond with David and his band over the years. “The release of the Wedding Present sessions done for our 6 Music programme over the years is something of an honour. In the great tradition of the Peel / Selwood releases on the Strange Fruit label, this record proves that, even without John, the BBC can still be a place where great bands can continue to grow and be creative... amongst friends”.
The Wedding Present are one of the UK’s best loved indie bands with eighteen UK Top 40 hit singles to their name. Formed in Leeds in 1985, the band are currently celebrating the 30th anniversary of their debut album “George Best”, which turned them into darlings of the British music press overnight, by winning acclaim for its honest love songs immersed in the whirlwind guitars which would become the band’s trademark. The band recently celebrated the release of their ninth studio album, “Going, Going...”.
Alongside The Wedding Present and David’s “other” band, Cinerama, David runs his own record label, curates his own festival and publishes a biographical comic book series; “Tales From The Wedding Present” - essentially his memoirs in graphic novel style.
The Wedding Present are set to perform their ninth studio album “Going, Going…” in its entirety at the historic Cadogan Hall, London on the 14th October. For this special ‘one-off’ performance, The Wedding Present will be joined by a full string section, 20-piece choir and video projection screen showing accompanying short films. Support for the evening comes from David Gedge’s “other” band Cinerama, The Membranes and Such Small Hands.
Hatch Records are an independent record label based in Leeds. Since forming in 2013, the label has lovingly released singles and albums from Then Thickens, Nine Black Alps, Deadwall, Napoleon IIIrd and The Wedding Present.
Tracks 1-4 (Recorded 19/11/12)
01. Back A Bit… Stop (Valentina 2012)
02. Heather (Seamonsters 1991)
03. You Should Always Keep In Touch With Your Friends (Tommy 1987)
04. The Girl From The DDR (Valentina 2012)
Tracks 5-8 (Recorded 21/10/13)
05. Flying Saucer (Hit Parade 2 1993)
06. Two Bridges (Going, Going… 2016)
07. Pleasant Valley Sunday (Hit Parade 1 1991)
08. Montreal (Saturnalia 1996)
Tracks 9-12 (Recorded 3/11/14)
09. It’s A Gas (Watusi 1994)
10. Spangle (Watusi 1994)
11. Birdsnest (Going, Going… 2016)
12. Little Silver (Going, Going… 2016)


close support grande rock & "like" our fb page