TesseracT to release new studio album “Sonder” on April 20th 2018

TesseracT Sonder cover
TesseracT, a band that sit outside the bounds of any genre specificity, pioneers of the ever-evolving metal scene and unstoppable force of off-kilter riffs, soaring melodies and disorientating atmospherics release their fourth studio album “Sonder” on April 20th, 2018, through Kscope.

“Sonder” adds significant firepower to the band’s arsenal, blending the harsh abrasiveness of “One” (2011) and progressive ethereal elements of “Altered State” (2013) with the accessibility of “Polaris” (2015).

“Sonder” is streamlined, honest and direct with all the trademark TesseracT dreamy atmospherics and bending grooves. “Sonder” was recorded in the UK at 4D Sounds, Celestial Sounds and Project Studios, engineered by the band and Aiden O’Brien with mastering by Acle Kahney, and cover artwork designed by Amos Williams.

For the first time, TesseracT has utilised a choir on one of its recordings (produced and conducted by Randy Slaugh and recorded at Soularium Studios, Utah). “Sonder” also includes field recordings submitted by the band's worldwide online fan base, giving an insight into the complex and varied lives of others; a theme which is also referenced in the artwork and the wider concept of self-identity within a population full of complex and vivid lives.

Listen to the new single “Luminary” below, described by vocalist Daniel Tompkins as: “conceptually exploring a deep and devouring sense of insignificance, which ties into the overall theme and meaning behind "Sonder"”. Also featured is an extended and re-worked version of last summer’s single “Smile”.

“Sonder” will be released on CD / 2CD – featuring binaural album bonus disc / black LP / Crystal Clear vinyl LP / picture disc (exclusive to the band’s webstores) and digitally (with digital album pre-order receiving “Luminary” as an instant download) and is available to pre-order here.

Double CD in Mediabook edition with 24-page booklet featuring lyrics and original artwork from Tesseract bassist Amos Williams.
The second disc includes the album in a binaural sound mix, which adds a new dimension while listening on headphones (allowing the listener to be at the centre of TesseracT's creation with 360 degree audio).

For audiophiles, TesseracT have produced a binaural version, which will be available exclusively as part of the 2CD version, this version is a 360-listening experience designed by Klang: Fabrik for headphones listening Amos Williams explains more: “the concept is to push past the restrictions of a stereo headphone mix and create an accurate ‘3D’ space in which positioning outside of the normal Left Right axis can occur. This is something that every artist that uses in ear monitors on stage wishes to recreate; the real and accurate positioning of instruments. We immediately felt that this technology could be applicable to us in the studio. TesseracT loves to bring what it does in the studio to the stage, but this time it’s experimenting with bringing a live element to the studio”.


Disc 1:
1. Luminary [03:12]
2. King [06:55]
3. Orbital [02:19]
4. Juno [05:12]
5. Beneath My Skin [05:33]
6. Mirror Image [05:46]
7. Smile [04:47]
8. The Arrow [02:36]
Disc 2:
1. Luminary (3D Binaural Mix) [03:12]
2. King (3D Binaural Mix) [06:55]
3. Orbital (3D Binaural Mix) [02:19]
4. Juno (3D Binaural Mix) [05:12]
5. Beneath My Skin (3D Binaural Mix) [05:33]
6. Mirror Image (3D Binaural Mix) [05:46]
7. Smile (3D Binaural Mix) [04:47]
8. The Arrow (3D Binaural Mix) [02:36]