Spook The Horses to release new studio album “People Used to Live Here” on November 10th 2017

Spook The Horses People Used to Live Here cover
Imagine if band members could rotate between instrument positions, because each musician had a proficient grasp on each instrument involved? It would supply a degree of freedom and mutual musical understanding, something that most bands could only dream of. Spook The Horses, from Wellington, New Zealand, are such a band.

Perhaps it’s this multi instrumentalism and virtuosity that explains the vast musical territory that is explored among the band’s three albums: while 2011’s debut album “Brighter” was defined by sweet post-rock crescendos, 2015’s “Rainmaker” was a much heavier affair that would appeal to fans of Cult Of Luna or Amenra. The band’s forthcoming “People Used to Live Here”, in quiet stark contrast to the aforementioned, sees the band turn the distortion knobs way down, to a mildly saturated crunch tone, at most.

“Writing this album gave us the ability to experiment with song ideas we felt weren’t appropriate on our previous albums”, Spook The Horses’ Zach Meech elaborates. The band’s most daring effort to date, “People Used to Live Here” explores the natural and immediate. Written and conceived in relative isolation over several grim Southern Hemisphere winters, Spook The Horses is defining their own sonic trademark with this album: an atmosphere of quiet desolation, raw and real, desperate and unsettling; the post-apocalyptic soundtrack to abandoned places, where people used to live, at one point in time, long ago.

“We deliberately isolated ourselves when writing this album to force us out of our comfort zones”, adds Callum Gay. “Most of the songs began as completely improvised pieces that we slowly fleshed and developed over time. We wanted to make sure that immediacy was captured and conveyed in a way we’d never done before. There’s much less between us and the listener this time around”.

Check out the record’s opening track “Lurch”, delivered in cryptic video form, below.

“People Used to Live Here” will be released on November, 10th, 2017, on CD, LP, and digital formats via Pelagic Records. Pre-order options are available here: Europe, North America, Australia, Digital.

Fans of Bohren & Der Club Of Gore, Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble, Mogwai (Come On Die Young), Amenra (acoustic), pay heed.

01. Lurch
02. Crude Shrines
03. Blessed Veins
04. Made Shapeless
05. Near Then, Far Now
06. Herald
07. We All Know Your Name
08. Following Trails

Zach Meech – Drums, guitar, vocals
Alex Ross – Bass
Donnie Cuzens – Guitar, synth
Callum Gay – Guitar, drums, vocals, synth
Ben Dentice – Guitar
Max Telfer – Visuals


close support grande rock & "like" our fb page