Federal Charm to release new studio album “Passenger” on September 14th 2018

Federal Charm Passenger cover
Four-piece rock band Federal Charm are set to release their highly anticipated third studio album “Passenger” on September 14th, 2018.

Fans who pre-order the album will get the first single “Choke” as a digital free instant grat track.

The album can be pre-ordered here.

1. Swing Sinner
2. Choke
3. Emerald Haze
4. Death Rattle
5. Nowhere is Home
6. Get Through
7. Concrete Creature
8. Can’t Rule Me
9. Halo
10. Speak Out
11. Parting Words

The CD edition will be available on the merchandise desk when Federal Charm tour the UK from September 19th.

“Passenger” was recorded, produced and mixed at Willow Terrace Studios in Manchester. Federal Charm co-produced the album with John Simms (Hidden Colour Audio) who also engineers for fellow Stockport band, Blossoms.

“John was really good to work with”, says Paul Bowe, one of the founding members and guitarist of Federal Charm. “He’s highly technical, has a great set of ears and commands an invaluable ability to locate and add that missing ingredient to make a song stand out from the crowd”.

For “Passenger”, the new line-up wanted to retain Federal Charm’s previous natural sound, but also wanted to create an exciting new sonic platform for the band’s new vocalist, Tom Guyer, to really let loose and show the world what he can do.

With “Passenger”, Federal Charm spent more time than any other of their previous albums by developing this material and taking the songs into new territory, tone-wise. Previously, the recording process for the first two studio albums was like, “Strat in? Go! Les Paul? Go!”...

For “Passenger”, a great deal of care and attention was taken into the pre-production, which ultimately benefited the all-round sound. Says Bowe: “It’s a heavier album. There was no way to tame the beast”.

The band’s co-headline UK tour with the Bad Flowers is timely, as the band will preview material from their third album “Passenger”, which will be released in Autumn 2018. Bowe says: “The new album is a personal account of the band’s creative journey over those last 18 months”.

Album track by track by Tom Guyer:

1. “Swing Sinner”:
“Swing Sinner” is a story about a young boy called Joe. Joe’s father was an abusive drunk. His mother ran away from home not long after he was born. One day, after years of abuse, Joe took his father’s gun and shoots him dead. The townsfolk aren’t aware of what a monster the man was and get together to bring Joe to justice. The song ends with him being hung for the killing.

2. “Choke”:
“Choke” is about a guy that Tom Guyer (vocalist) knew at college. He was friendly with a girl with whom there’d always seemed to be a bit of a connection, but he never made a move because she had this on-off relationship with another guy. Tom didn’t like him. The other guy was a snobbish rich kid with a sense of self-satisfaction that was really abrasive. He turned out to be a nasty, manipulative piece of work, who felt threatened by Tom’s friendship. One day this tension came to a head when they had an argument. “One day people like you end up working for people like me”, bragged the snob... and in doing so, provided the inspiration for “Choke”.

3. “Emerald Haze”:
“Emerald Haze” is about a relationship ending and having to watch your ex-lover start fresh with somebody new. Something everyone’s gone through. “Emerald Haze” is a metaphor for the jealousy felt at a time like that.

4. “Death Rattle”:
Local councils all over the country are closing down beloved music venues, and replacing them with expensive apartment blocks. The song addresses the sense of loss and emptiness for these lost iconic buildings, and the many memories and life changing experiences they held. Suspicion is raised as to the motives of the people allowing this to happen?

5. “Nowhere is Home”:
As a youngster, Tom’s father moved around the country a lot for work, trying to provide a better life for his family. Not begrudging of his old man’s efforts, Tom, however, feels rootless and doesn’t have one place he calls ‘home’. Nowhere he can go back to and be surrounded by old friends and family.

6. “Get Through”:
Not every relationship ends in heartbreak. This is a song about a girl Tom dated for a brief time at college. He sensed from the start that she wasn’t committed and the relationship’s eventual end came as no surprise. Resourceful Tom got over it quickly and moved on.

7. “Concrete Creature”:
This song is all about man’s continuous destruction of nature while chasing profits and power. It’s also a criticism of most people’s apathy and inaction on the matter. People have the power to do something about this, but sadly, it appears, too many are too busy worrying about the consumer society and vacuous gossip driven diet of reality television shows.

8. “Can’t Rule Me”:
This is about people who lie and manipulate people in order to improve their station.

9. “Halo”:
“Halo” is a love song to a girl who was the object of my affections when Tom was younger. She had bright blonde hair and pale white skin so whenever the sun shone she’d shine too. They really hit it off but, alas, at the time, she had a boyfriend. Deciding between the two was impossible for her, so Tom gallantly took a step back and told her that he’d be there if she ever broke up with her beau. Of course, a while later, she did, and Tom and her rekindled… until he heard that she was seeing someone else.

10. “Speak Out”:
“Speak Out” is about the current government’s failures on a number of fronts, particularly the education system and the preservation of the NHS.

11. “Parting Words”:
“Parting Words” is about divorce and the signs that precede it.

UK Tour Dates 2018 (w/ The Bad Flowers):
Wednesday 19 September - Thekla, Bristol
Thursday 20 September - Muni Arts Centre, Pontypridd
Friday 21 September - Rock City Basement, Nottingham
Saturday 22 September - Classic Grand, Glasgow
Sunday 23 September - The Live Rooms, Chester
Monday 24 September - The Parish, Huddersfield
Wednesday 26 September - The Parish, Huddersfield
Thursday 27 September - Think Tank, Newcastle
Friday 28 September - Corporation, Sheffield
Saturday 29 September - O2 Institute 2, Birmingham
Sunday 30 September - Borderline, London

Tom Guyer - Vocals
Paul Bowe - Guitars
L.D. Morawski - Bass
Josh Zahler - Drums