New Model Army to release new studio album “From Here” on August 23rd 2019

New Model Army From Here cover
“It is often said that the album is dead. We don’t believe this is true” – Justin, Michael, Dean, Marshall and Ceri.

Following this approach, earMusi is proud to announce the release of New Model Army’s new studio album “From Here” on August 23rd, 2019.

In October 1980 three musicians took to the stage in their hometown of Bradford to play a gig under the name New Model Army. Led by frontman and songwriter Justin Sullivan, this was the start of a remarkable journey which, almost 40 years on, has seen New Model Army develop a fervent worldwide fanbase and reach multiple milestones of both creative and commercial success.

Members have changed over the years and musical styles have evolved but at the heart of the band Justin has remained, along with a distinct and sincere belief in the power of music to inspire and effect change on a personal and political scale, both locally and globally. With the band’s hugely acclaimed albums “Between Dog And Wolf” (2013) and “Winter” (2016) bringing renewed critical appreciation, chart success and an ever-growing audience of new fans to join the legion of faithful devotees, New Model Army return in 2019 with one of the finest records of their career.

“From Here” was recorded earlier this year on the tiny Norwegian island of Giske at the beautiful Ocean Sound Recordings studio and reflects the spectacular isolation of that environment yet has profound messages for the world we all live in and the times we are experiencing.

“We all have different lives and different tastes in almost everything, including music”, say the band. “One thing we have in common is the love of bleak, open, cold, rugged landscapes – water, snow, rock. So this was the perfect place for us to work on something collectively – at all times while we were working, we could look up and see the sky, the sea and melting snow on the mountains, all in a constant state of change. So this album has a feel that is different to our other albums, but it still contains all the elements that characterise our peculiarly unidentifiable music – perhaps even more than ever. And “From Here” was an obvious title. The record belongs to a very special place and a particular time – what is happening in the world, where we are as a band and where we are as people”.

The album will be released on August 23rd via earMUSIC, ahead of a 38-date UK & European tour later this year.

“From Here” will be available as a CD Hardcover Media Book, Double 180g-Vinyl Gatefold and Digital and can be pre-ordered here.

A Strictly Limited 2LP Splattered Vinyl-Edition, a Limited 7" Vinyl Single and various bundles will be available via an exclusive direct to consumer web shop.

1. Passing Through
2. Never Arriving
3. The Weather
4. End Of Days
5. Conversation
6. Great Disguise
7. Where I Am
8. Hard way
9. Watch And Learn
10. Maps
11. Setting Sun
12. From Here

Festivals 2019:
01 June Camden Rocks (UK)
08 June Wave Gotik Traffen Festival (DE)
14 June Nova Rock Festival (AT)
18 August W-Fest (BE)
24 August Belfast, Putting The Fast In Belfast 3
07 September Angeliter Open Air (DE)
14 September Benidorm, Visor Festival (ES)

European Tour Dates 2019:
08 October Southampton, The 1865
09 October Paris, La Maroquinerie
10 October Dortmund, FZW
11 October Hamburg, Markthalle
12 October Berlin, Huxley's Neue Welt
13 October Poznań, Tama
15 October Gdynia, Klub Ucho
16 October Warsaw, Klub Proxima
17 OCtober Wrocław, Stary Klasztor
18 October Krakow, Kwadrat
19 October Budapest, A38
20 October TBA
22 October Winterthur, Salzhaus
23 October Fribourg Fri-Son
24 October Freiburg, Jazzhaus
25 October München, Backstage
26 October Stuttgart, LKA Longhorn
27 October Nürnberg, Hirsch
29 October Dresden, Beatpol
30 October Frankfurt, Batschkapp
31 October Losheim, Eisenbahnhalle
01 November Rijkevorsel, De Singer
02 November Strasbourg, La Laiterie
13 November Bristol, SWX
14 November London, Electric Ballroom
15 November Cambridge, Cambridge Junction
16 November Leeds, University Stylus
17 November Cardiff, Tramshed
19 November Chester, The Live Rooms
20 November Newcastle, Boiler Shop
21 November Edinburgh, The Liquid Room
22 November Manchester, O2 Ritz
23 November Birmingham, O2 Institute
30 November Istanbul, Zorlu PSM Studio
12 December Brighton, Concorde 2
13 December Amsterdam, Melkweg
14 December Köln, Palladium
21 December Nottingham, Rock City