Kings Destroy to release new studio album “Fantasma Nera” on March 8th 2019

Kings Destroy Fantasma Nera cover
Kings Destroy, “Brooklyn’s atmospheric grunge doom unit” (The Obelisk) will release their fourth album, and first full-length in four years, “Fantasma Nera” on March 8th, 2019, via Svart Records.

“We upended our usual approach in creating this album”, says guitarist Carl Porcaro. “We’d been playing together for so many years, and all of our previous albums were the result of us hashing out the ideas in rehearsal and learning to play the songs live prior to going into the studio. For "Fantasma Nera" we put the songs first and let the material dictate the means by which the album was created. Producer David Bottrill (Tool, King Crimson) helped us find new creative approaches, and this resulted in an album that doesn’t sound like anything else we’ve ever done”.

“We challenged ourselves to make the best album we could”, adds singer Stephen Murphy. “… and we left our guts on the table. When I finished the vocals on this album, I was mentally and physically broken from the effort. I did not sing again for two months after it was recorded. I owed that effort to my band mates, and they did the same for me”.

1. The Nightbird
2. Fantasma Nera
3. Barbarossa
4. Unmake It
5. Dead Before
6. Yonkers Ceiling Collapse
7. Seven Billion Drones
8. You’re the Puppet
9. Bleed Down the sun
10. Stormy Times

The album cover was done by Josh Graham (ex-Neurosis, A Storm of Light, IIVII).

Pre-orders will be announced soon, as well North American tour dates. The band recently confirmed a performance at Maryland Doom Fest on June 20.

Aaron Bumpus - Bass
Stephen Murphy - Vocals
Carl Porcaro - Guitar
Rob Sefcik - Drums
Chris Skowronski - Guitar