post black metal

Chrome Waves to release new album “The Cold Light of Despair” on November 8th 2019

Midwestern metal/post-metal outfit Chrome Waves presents “The Cold Light of Despair”, a collection of both new and previously released singles, covers, and more. The record will see release in November through guitarist Jeff Wilson’s independent label Disorder Recordings.

Chrome Waves sign with Avantgarde Music for Europe and announce August 2019 US Tour Dates

Chrome Waves has signed with long-running label Avantgarde Music, for the European vinyl release of the band’s recently released debut LP, “A Grief Observed”.

The news comes as Chrome Waves’ Midwestern June US tour with Tombs approaches and as the band books a tour of the West Coast with Suicide Forest in August.

Obsolete Theory to release debut album “Mudness” on June 15th 2018

Just a few weeks to June 15th 2018, the day My Kingdom Music will release “Mudness”, the alienating, obscure and mystic Obsolete Theory debut album.

Mixed and mastered by Øystein G. Brun (Borknagar) at the Crosound Studio in Bergen (Norway), “Mudness” is a manifesto of Atmospheric and Doomish Post-Black Metal with a broad range of influences like Behemoth, Agalloch, Katatonia, Solstafir, Alcest, Enslaved.

The cover artwork was painted by the great Jeff Grimal.

Pre-order the album here.

1. Salmodia III
2. Six Horses of Death

Nullingroots to release new studio album “Into the Grey” on November 17th 2017

Nullingroots, originally the project of sole member, Cameron Boesch, was formed in 2014 in Southern California. A debut, self-titled album was released shortly thereafter, which extracted Boesch's post-black metal style from his previous band, Solus, and incorporated lush, gazing atmospheric elements.

Ghost Bath announces May/June 2017 European Headline Tour

At the end of Spring, atmospheric black metallers Ghost Bath will return to Europe for an extensive headline tour in support of their upcoming full-length release “Starmourner” (out on April 21st, 2017).

After several dates in Great Britain, supporting the doomsters of Katatonia, front man Nameless and his following will play a big set of headline shows in mainland Europe.

On the first leg of the tour, they will bring the German shoegaze/post black combo Heretoir with them, while on the second leg they will team up with Ex-Thränenkind incarnation King Apathy.

Ghost Bath to release new studio album “Starmourner” on April 21st 2017

Depressive black metal merchants Ghost Bath, are pleased to announce the digital release of “Starmourner” on April 21st, 2017, via Nuclear Blast.

Today, the band has released the first single from that record, entitled “Thrones” - check it out below.

“Starmourner” takes the concept of its predecessor to an even higher level. It explores joy (instead of sorrow), the cosmos (instead of earth), and paradise (instead of purgatory.) But most importantly, it explores ecstasy - instead of tragedy - as its basic human emotion. With over 72 minutes of heavy, melodic, and dramatic black metal, it is Ghost Bath's most ambitious undertaking yet.

Orakle - Éclats

Orakle are a French quintet, that is quite interesting, as the assimilate a lot of odd meter rhythms into a prog cornucopia with a lot of extreme metal elements. They have existed in different forms since the mid-90s, but have not been terribly prolific in their output, with just 3 demos and 3 proper releases prior to this one. They seem to easily slide between a deeply sophisticated instrumental prog into top down extreme passages that they dilute with some softer cleanly sung ones and they sing in French, which basically, limits their appeal to mostly Francophone territories, like their native France, Canada and a few more, with the possibility to crossover to other markets not completely squandered, but greatly diminished.

Woland releases new lyric video & announces live dates

Modern Post Black Metallers Woland of Finland has since the release of the debut album "Hyperion" received great reviews from all over the world, played at the Inferno Metal Festival in Oslo and made some changes to the line-up, now including Rainer Tuomikanto on drums (Shining [SWE]) and Pyry Hanski on bass (Black Sun Aeon, Before The Dawn).