blackened extreme metal

Ketzer to release new studio album “Cloud Collider” on April 12th 2019

On April 12th, 2019, German extreme metallers Ketzer will release their fourth full-length, “Cloud Collider”, via Metal Blade Records.
Looking on Ketzer’s musical history, change is what has always defined their sound. From thrashing riffs to atmospheric blackened tunes, Ketzer is a band that has always aimed to defy genres. So what can we expect on “Cloud Collider”? Nothing more than a ride on a storm cloud, followed by a soft breeze in your face and, finally, a cleansing rainfall.

Hecate Enthroned releases lyric video for “Erebus and Terror”

With “Embrace of the Godless Aeon”, their first record in five years, proving to be one of the best-reviewed extreme metal releases of the year to date, the UK-based symphonic blackened death metal group Hecate Enthroned have unveiled a lyric video for the album track “Erebus and Terror”, which features guest vocals by Sarah Jezebel Deva (Cradle Of Filth, Therion, Mortiis).

Check out the lyric video for “Erebus and Terror” below.

Diesear to release new studio album “BloodRed Inferno” on April 12th 2019

Entertainment One (eOne) has signed Taiwanese melodic death metal band Diesear to a worldwide record deal.

The band will release a new LP titled “BloodRed Inferno” on April 12th, 2019. “BloodRed Inferno” will be the band’s third full length and the follow up to “Ashes of the Dawn”, which was released in 2013.

1914 sign with Napalm Records

Ukrainian WWI experts 1914 join the Napalm Family! With their unique blackened death/doom metal sound, 1914 leads you back in one of the darkest chapters of the last century - they breathe The Great War!

Strongly influenced by genre pioneers like Bolt Thrower and Entombed, 1914 have already released two full length albums, “Eschatology of War” (2015) and “The Blind Leading the Blind” (2018), which making them one of the most talked about newer bands in the genre. From now on they are part of the Napalm roster!

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals announce new bass player Derek Engemann

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals are pleased to welcome former Cattle Decapitation bassist/current Scour guitarist Derek Engemann to the lineup.

Engemann, who takes the place of bass comrade Walter Howard (Grieved, Oppressive Force, Vaginal Bear Trap etc.), will make his live debut with The Illegals beginning next week on the band’s Latin American tour where the band will be performing Illegals tracks alongside a selection of Pantera hits.

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals announce Latin America, Australia and New Zealand Live Shows for 2019

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals will spend much of 2019 road bound beginning with a handful of Latin American dates in January and February.

The following month, the band will make their way to Australia and New Zealand for the Thrash Blast Grind tour with Australian grind unit and Housecore Records labelmates King Parrot.

The Spirit release new music video for “Illuminate the Night Sky”

Although The Spirit’s black/death fog has barely left the stages of the extensive “Death... Is Just The Beginning” European tour that the band recently concluded with Hypocrisy and Kataklysm, a new chapter is already being scripted.

While the quartet from Saarbrücken is currently working on new songs for their sophomore full-length release, the band is now set to unleash a new official video from their debut album “Sounds from the Vortex”, released in August 2018.

The Spirit’s new music video for “Illuminate the Night Sky” depicts the live energy of several different shows from the latest tour and can be watched below.

Ossuarium to release debut full-length album “Living Tomb” on February 1st 2019

To start the 2019 campaign off with continued crushing precedent, 20 Buck Spin introduces Portland's Ossuarium and the band's harrowing debut album, “Living Tomb”, as the label's first release of the year.

Following on the heels of the widely hailed and brutal “Calcified Trophies of Violence” demo in 2017, Ossuarium's first full length record reveals immediate maturation to ruinous and overwhelming effect.

Hecate Enthroned to release new studio album “Embrace of the Godless Aeon” on January 25th 2019

The UK-based blackened death metal group Hecate Enthroned will release “Embrace of the Godless Aeon”, their first album in five years (and their debut for new label M-Theory Audio), on January 25th, 2019.

The album – which features cover artwork by Nestor Avalos (Bloodbath, Rotting Christ, The Black Dahlia Murder), as seen above – can be pre-ordered now on CD and red splatter vinyl here. A limited-edition deluxe box set that includes exclusive purple vinyl and cassette editions of the album, a signed photo card and other collectibles is also available.