atmospheric metal

Devin Townsend to release new studio album “Empath” March 29th 2019

Canadian heavy music artist Devin Townsend has officially announced the release of his forthcoming new album “Empath” for the 29th of March 2019.

In the lead up to the album’s release, Devin will walk fans through how “Empath” came together with a series of documentary episodes recorded as phone conversations during the course of the albums recording. Watch him explain more in the video below.

Lucidity to release new studio album “Oceanum” on February 22nd 2019

Lucidity’s second single, “Scotoma”, continues the dive into the similar dark waters than the first single, “Surface”, of the upcoming album.

Strong atmospheric melancholy gets support from arrangements that is not that familiar in Lucidity’s creations before. This gives a glimpse of the albums diversity.
Watch the video for “Scotoma” below.

Witherfall to release new EP “Vintage” on March 22nd 2019

In November 2018, US dark melodic metal act Witherfall released its much-celebrated second studio album, “A Prelude to Sorrow”.

Never resting on its laurels, the group led by the creative duo comprised of vocalist Joseph Michael (Sanctuary) and Jake Dreyer (Iced Earth) now announces the “Vintage” CD, EP, and digital release to be available during the upcoming acoustic tour with Sonata Arctica and released via Century Media Records on March 22nd, 2019.

Skyharbor announces Spring 2019 European Headlining Tour

Indian/American progressive metal band Skyharbor has announced the 2019 “Sunshine Dust” European Tour.

“We can’t wait for what will be our first time playing in Europe since 2017 with Deftones”, says guitarist Keshav Dhar. “Our international performing career began here and we’re very excited to bring the new album to stages all across the beautiful continent”.

Dates will begin on March 27, 2019, in Wiesbaden, DE and wrap up at the famous Underworld in London about a month later.

Candlemass to release new studio album “The Door to Doom” on February 22nd 2019

Candlemass have come full circle: their first singer Johan Langquist (who left the band after singing on the legendary 1986 debut “Epicus Doomicus Metallicus”) has returned!

Now, the epic doom metal veterans announce their 12th full length album “The Door to Doom”!

The Moth Gatherer to release new studio album “Esoteric Oppression” on February 22nd 2019

Sweden’s The Moth Gatherer, an atmospheric doom/sludge/post metal band based in Stockholm, will release its third studio album, successor to critically acclaimed “The Earth is the Sky” (2015), on February 22nd, 2019, via Agonia Records.

The new album is titled “Esoteric Oppression”. Check out the tracklist below, in anticipation of a new single, due out before 2019.

The Moth Gatherer is a band of varying genres, centered around atmospheric doom, sludge and post metal. Their prolific approach includes electric musical stylings, along with traces of melodic post-rock.

Neurosis to headline Supersonic Festival 2019

Supersonic Festival is immensely proud to announce iconic pioneers of heavy music, Neurosis, as the headliners of their fifteenth installment taking place July 19th through 21st.
Showing their discontent with convention from the very beginning, Neurosis revealed what would become an instinct for transformation in sound and scope. Over the collective’s past eleven albums and their utterly memorable live shows, the band has invited listeners to join them on the path their music carved. Going beyond the remarkable, Neurosis has become unforgettable.